Austin marathon…

20140216-191150.jpg
Me and my partner. I didn’t wear the hood today…

Today was the Austin marathon. Actually, it pretty much has consumed my weekend. Simply put, it’s one of the coolest things I get to do, and I look forward to it all year, and I’m just plain lucky to be part of such a talented team.

I won’t rehash all the details because I’ve done it before. I worked at the expo a lot this year, but I love talking to all the runners and it’s exhausting but a lot of fun. I had a new partner this year, Stacey, and it was fun to share the experience of guiding so many first time marathoners across the line. As always, pacing Is both easier and harder than running a marathon on my own. I’m so, so tired tonight, and despite the fact I’ve worn this shoe/ sock combo several times before with no problems, I’m going to end up losing four toenails. Ouch. But these are trivial things to put up with to do something that’s so much fun.

I’m always a bit of an outsider and often do things alone…..including my running. A nice side effect of pacing is getting to be deep into the Austin running community and really be a part of it for marathon weekend. Not only do I get the honor of guiding folks through the marathon, but I get to be part of an incredible, diverse, and inspiring team.

Some highlights:
– My partner, Stacey, was not only a very talented runner, but she knew about half the spectators on the course. As her tag along, I got a lot of cheers this year!

-the marathon high teens out on the course running their first marathon. So inspiring.

-almost perfect weather. The sun stayed behind the clouds all day…no sunburn!

-dinner tonight at Phil’s Icehouse and non- running friends bringing me cookies. So sweet and thoughtful.

-my wonderful family keeping themselves entertained and busy all weekend since I was out of the picture. And seeing them on course at mile 16. Even if Jasper just said “hi mommy, I’m going to the museum.”

Anyhow, number 31 is in the books, Austin marathon number 14 is checked off. I can’t wait until next year!

20140216-195235.jpg
Post race treat. :)

About Clea

I am a mama, wife, nurse, runner, and dog lover. This blog is about my adventures as a new running mama, trying to balance it all, and keep my sense of humor!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Austin marathon…

  1. Olga King says:

    I missed you out there! But I think you mentioned you’re pacing over-4hr group, and I was leaving each point at just 4:00 pacers…Fun weekend!

    • Clea says:

      Yes, it was a great weekend. Thanks for being out there! I pace the 4:40 group, so you definitely missed me. Glad to read on your blog that you are feeling better and doing some serious running again.

  2. Kathleen says:

    I saw Jasper and Mike at 16 – I yelled across the road “Hi Jasper! – i know your mommy!” and his face lit up – it was so cute. And yes, my feet took a beating as well as a lot of my skin. Body Glide just didn’t stand a chance to near 100% humidity.

    • Clea says:

      Ha! That’s so funny…Mike told me about you saying hi and barely describe you and I yelled “that’s Kathleen!” I pretty much knew when he said a blonde girl a little bit ahead of us. It was great to see you…we need to run sometime. Let me know if you ever need an early start. I usually get started by 5:30-6:00.

Leave a Reply

