A running post…


Since this is a blog about running..here is a running post! This picture is from Huntsville state park from the little Rocky raccoon 50K. Next weekend I’ll be running the Rocky Raccoon 50 mile run. There is also a 100 mile run at the same time. It’s a pretty big event. I’ll also be working the packet pickup. Should be fun. I am excited as this is my first big ultra since Vermont 100. I first heard about ultra running in high school. I was always interested in it, but never really thought I’d do it. A few years later, a few marathons later, and the Sunmart 50 mile run kept popping into my head. I finally committed to it and haven’t looked back since. I still do road runs….mostly marathons and half marathons, but I always think about how much more I like the atmosphere at an ultra. I love that it’s just about everyone supporting each other to have a good day, getting through the rough spots, and finishing strong. And, nothing beats the feeling of finishing. I honestly believe trail ultras are easier on my body than a road marathon. I just need to get psyched back up to doing another 100! Those are a little more of a mental undertaking. I still have a feeling I’ll try just one more….In the meantime, I look forward to my next challenge. I can’t wait to meet new folks out on the trail, that is really the best part about ultras. It’s so cool to meet so many different sorts of folks, who all do this seemingly “crazy” hobby. It sure is fun though….

Leave a Reply

