Does any of this matter?


Been beating myself up all week about dropping from a race. I decided to have a new perspective. does it really matter? Not really. It’s a pretty big luxury to worry about a run. Most folks are worrying about much more important things. I am a pretty badass nurse, if I don’t say so myself, and this is probably a much bigger accomplishment than any running thing I’ve ever done. I count nursing school graduation as my proudest moment, and no run really comes close. And guess what, it was a lot harder than any race. Don’t get me wrong, I love the feeling of accomplishment after I finish something big, but let’s not lose perspective here. Remember that to most folks there’s not much difference between 6 miles and 100 miles. It all seems utterly ridiculous to them. I’ve been fortunate to travel to some awesome places to run, and I am fortunate enough that I have no health issues preventing me from doing so. So here is a picture to put it all in perspective. This is me, karen, and Stephanie a few years ago before the Reno marathon. We went out for a girls’ trip. We went out for the marathon, didn’t train properly, and didn’t give a crap. Had a blast just being together and seeing a beautiful place (lake Tahoe, not Reno!), and didn’t think for one minute what our race time would be. I don’t even remember how long it took. it does hold the distinction as the most sore I’ve ever been after a race though…

5 Replies to “Does any of this matter?”

  1. Clea, you have accomplished so much in running. Dropping from one race shouldn’t rattle you. We have all done it at one point or another. We have chosen a sport that requires so much both mentally and physically…and that’s just the training part of it.

  2. No, it doesn’t matter a bit. From what I know of your running accomplishments, you have been doing very well and should be proud of both your great finishes and races that you are not able to finish. You were out there Sunday on a beautiful day, spending time w/ friends, having an awesome 35 mile run!!

  3. Don’t beat yourself up any more. Of course, I’d probably do the same thing. But, it isn’t worth it. How many people in Texas ran at least 35 miles last Sunday? Not very many–you were in an elite group! We have so many things to be thankful for: family, friends, pets, good health. Getting to run is just the icing on top. I ran so damn hard during the race that I really didn’t have a chance to look around much at the beauty of where I was running. I think that is more of a disappointment than you stopping at mile 35…

  4. thanks larry! Being a type A personality can be bad….obsess? Not me!!! You DID do awesome though…maybe you should try a half marathon or one of the trail series next.

Leave a Reply

