Running, an addiction?


I was talking to Steve the other day about running being an addiction. Am I addicted? I hate to say, but I think so. If I am sick, tired, or unmotivated, I can turn down a long run, but I still tend to get out there and drag myself though 6 miles or so. I used to religiously run about 8 miles a day, 7 days a week, and took a day a off every couple of months. When I revved up to marathons, I had to back some of the runs to get in the long run. When I revved up to ultras, to avoid injury, I started taking off one day a week, and riding the bike trainer. Now, I don’t even do that. I take one day off and sleep as late as I can, and get some rest since most days I am up at 430-500. Is the the best method? Probably not. I am the first to admit I should probably take more off time. I tried bike riding, and it just didn’t do it for me like a run does. I really am not interested in swimming either. This is all fine, as long as I can avoid serious injury. I already know just from a few minor injuries that I’ve taken off a week or 2 for, that I go CRAZY. I try to tell myself that it is not the end of the world, and that I am lucky I don’t have a more serious problem, but let’s face it, not running is not fun. Don’t even get me started on tapering. So what is the solution? Is there a 12 step program for running?

2 Replies to “Running, an addiction?”

  1. I guess I now consider myself a runner. I’m sure those that know me think that’s an odd statement, but here’s my perspective. Just recently, I have discovered that I go crazy if I don’t get in a good run. If I see someone running while I’m driving, I want to be running. It keeps me sane. I only run three to four times a week, but the other days are used as cross training days in the gym. This keeps me injury free. I have a road bike and mountain bike collecting dust in the garage. I’d rather go run. I have so many pairs of running shoes that I have to mark the date I start running in them with a Sharpie below the insole. Otherwise, I would lose track of when to rotate my shoes. We, as Americans, have become soft. Previous generations since the 1600’s have worked hard physically for a living. Our generation and our parent’s generation spend most of the time indoors and/or at a desk most of the time. Some of us, however, are hard wired for physical exertion. I’ve always had an outlet for this, whether it be running or some other outdoor activity. We don’t need a 12-step program. Everyone else is missing out on the fun.

Leave a Reply

