Taking risks…


Photo: Self portrait from Vermont Summer 2006.

I talked to my friend Liz tonight. She is signed up for the Grand Slam this year, which for those of you who don’t know, is 4 100 mile races in a single summer. I have a big admiration for Liz for doing this for a few reasons. Number 1: Her confidence. I learned running a 100 really does involve 50 miles of mental running and 50 miles of physical. she is confident. Believing you can do it is key. I am not quite there when it comes to doing another 100. Also…I admire her for going for it. I am very responsible: I work a lot, don’t spend a lot of extra money, and don’t take a lot of time off. I am changing employers soon, and I am getting paid for over 3 months of unused vacation. while I am very happy to get this extra money, I am very sad it never got used for anything more exciting than paying some bills. I wish I could throw caution to the wind more, and go for some of my dreams. It is hard though, to go against your instinctive nature, and mine is to be responsible. I try and get inspired by all my friends going for their dreams…and believe in myself that I can go for some of mine. I have a lot of friends racing lots of 100s this summer, so I should have plenty of inspiration.

In other news, I am soooooo happy that this is a 3 day weekend! It has been a long time since I had one, and I have a very full weekend planned. Lots of running, watching the CapTex triathlon, a mini spa day, and some time with friends. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

