Hurry up weekend….


This is what I live for all week…a trail run with Pancake! That will not happen this weekend though. The weather sounds hideous saturday and sunday is the 26.2 mile fun run.

My life is not my own lately. I am looking forward to being out of transition and not being the new kid. I am sitting in all these board meetings at Brackenridge hospital with administrators and big wig docs thinking “what in hell am I doing here and how did I get here?” It really comes down to I had one doc in particular who really believes in me, and told the right people. sometimes it just helps to have a connection. Anyhow…I recognize this and am eternally grateful for his mentorship.

I don’t have much to write about the marathon, because at this point, I’ve done enough of them. I recommend going to see Spirit of the Marathon and get a feel for what it is like. I love to see the first timers, because I still remember what it is like. And, I am young enough in my ultra career that I still get first timer syndrome doing the really long stuff. finishing is the best high ever and it lasts a few days, not a few minutes. And, in a side note, Mike remembers my first marathon too. Anytime I bring up running a 100 or even a 50 miler, he says “didn’t you say you would never run another marathon ever again after your first one? And now you want to run 100 miles?”

so, here is recipe #2. Enjoy:

Clea’s Badass gringo enchiladas.

I have been making these for years and they always get raves. They are very easy. I cook a couple pounds of chicken breasts in the crock pot on low with some onion and seasonings until the meat is super tender. I usually do this the day before. save the broth (always the key to lots of flavor). Shred the chicken meat when done. give any scraps to your dog.

The sauce is a cup of sour cream (use lite if you are a dietician), 1 cup green salsa. I go for super hot at central market. Lots of brands are good….pick your favorite, but make it hot. 1 8 oz can green chiles or fresh when Hatch green chilies are in season, 1 10oz can black olives, about 1/2 cup of the homemade chicken broth from cooking the chicken and 1 cut up onion sauteed in olive oil until mushy. Simmer together for a few minutes.

get some good quality white corn tortillas (once again…central market). In a 9×13 greased pan, put down a layer of tortillas. Spread with sauce and chicken meat and sprinkle with cheese (the soft mexican white cheese if you can get it) (dieticians can forgo the cheese). Keep repeating until you are out of stuff, but make sure you end with a layer of sauce and lots of cheese on top. Bake at 350 for a half hour or so, or until all bubbly. If served before a race, I make spanish rice and salad to go with it.

enjoy……

2 Replies to “Hurry up weekend….”

Leave a Reply

