Taking a new direction…


This picture is supposed to be me deciding what path to take…symbolic, huh? 🙂

Last night I had a bit of a nervous breakdown. I feel like I’ve taken so much on, that all the little things are starting to overwhelm me. Let me state that I currently do not have major life stress…I can pay my mortgage, I do not have a sick family member, I don’t have a new baby, and I am not in school. I just take on too darn much, and am too OCD. Aside from the fact I probably need meds, Mike really helped me map out a plan. So I have some new strategery 🙂 Here it is:

Mike made me list everything I do on a weekday, including stuff like showering, drive time, sleep, making dinner etc. Just being at work alone knocked out 10 hours on average. It added up around 20 hours, leaving me 3-4 hours a day that are not accounted for (sound familiar to any of y’all?) So, in that 3-4 hours, I’ve been trying to cram working at the volunteer clinic, nights out with my many friends, cleaning my house, biking, dog walking, baking, and blogging! No wonder I still haven’t taken a photography class, taken a yoga class, increased my bike time, or learned to rock climb (all things on my list of things I’d like to do), and don’t even get me started on the house projects I have not tackled. It helped to list it all out this way. My suggestions of sleep less, or quit my job, were not encouraged by Mike, so he helped me condense some of these daily things I do. Starting today, I only am checking my home email 1 time a night, and right now is my one blog time/ computer time. No more internet surfing! So, if I do not email you right away, give me 24 hours or so, I will. I also am only checking it at work 1 TIME. Also, my other new idea is more group time with friends. One on one is great, but some weeks I am out every night with someone different, and never home, and then I stress about all the crap I have to do at home. Next, I have to prioritize my activities. I am keeping the volunteer clinic work, but I may not become an expert rock climber this year as planned. Finally, I need to cut down on my housework (this part will be hard), so I might not dust every week, maybe every other. Yikes, that is not going to be easy. I also will cook less.

So there is the plan. Today is the first day, and I already feel better. How come Mike had all this figured out, and I wake up in the middle of the night making lists in my head? Well, in his opinion I am nuts, but I can work with this. at least I want to change. And, I KNOW some of my friends who read this can relate.

Anyhow, gotta go. Gotta pack and clean the house (but not too clean), for a weekend in Possum Kingdom, Texas with the fam. Look it up if you don’t know where it is…

Here’s to simplifying your life….

Leave a Reply

