Uncategorized

My latest challenge…



So I went to my best Yoga class yet this week. I went to a class done by the owner of the place I have been going Dharma Yoga. I’ve really liked every class I’ve gone to there, and I love that it is not a gym, as I always feel horribly out of place in gyms. Anyhow, this was the first class where every pore in my body was pouring sweat, and the next day every muscle was sore. I couldn’t cough or laugh, my stomach muscles were soooo sore. But, it was a great feeling, as obviously if I am that sore these muscles (or lack of) need some work. My arms were killing me from the big challenge of the class: a handstand. It is a mega challenge to do one with straight locked arms and legs. It is my new goal. I had major help from the instructor, who was very motivational, and more like a coach, and I did one with tons of spotting. But, I am no where near to doing one on my own. so, more to come, I intend to go one night this week, and hopefully keep working on it. It’s really hard to explain if you have never tried it. For me, it’s like saying I want to run a marathon, when I currently can only run a mile. But ambition is a good thing, and goals are a good thing…so handstand, here I come!

Starting to think of my training schedule for RR. So far I am considering the Decker marathon and Warda as a couple warm up races. today, as I walked around the block in 105 degrees, I decided my goal this winter is NOT to complain I am cold. I intend to layer whatever clothing is needed for me to stay warm. This summer has been so rough, I feel I must savor our winter. We’ll see how I do on that….plus, I am determined to stay warm for all of RR.

Finally, this is a pretty mellow weekend(since last weekend I was hiking up mountains!). Today I cooked a double batch of chicken and dumplings. Here is the recipe, it is truly one of my favorites and specialties. It’s kinda zen….no set quantities of ingredients, you just have to feel it, but I encourage you to try it.

Clea’s “Let’s pretend it is cold out” Chicken and Dumplings
1-2 pounds chicken breast cooked and shredded, save the broth the chicken makes while it cooks. (I cook the chicken in a crock pot with 1/2 cup water and lots of seasonings)

About 1 cup of chopped carrots, chopped celery, chopped yellow onion, and 1 cut up potato. Saute all the veggies in a big soup pot in a bunch of olive oil. When the onions and getting translucent, add a couple big heaping spoonfuls of flour. stir it around and coat all the veggies. Add the chicken broth you saved, about 1/2 cup of milk, and add enough canned chicken broth to cover all the veggies. Add salt, pepper, and any other spices you like. It should be slightly thicker than soup. Turn the heat to low, and let it simmer until the potatoes are done.

Add the shredded chicken. Now make the dumplings: 1 cup flour, 2 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp salt, 2 Tbsp melted butter, and 1/2 cup milk. Mix it up by hand, and it should be slightly sticky. If it is too sticky, add a little more flour. Now, pinch little globs of dumpling dough and drop it into the simmering veggie/ chicken mixture. Cover, and simmer on low for about 15- 20 minutes. When done, the dumplings are fluffy on the inside, and have grown in size quite a bit.

Don’t let the simplicity of this fool you, it is super good, and is even better on night 2. eat it and pretend it is a cold winter night. also, a terrific post race or post hard work out food, as it really fills you up.

1 thought on “My latest challenge…”

  1. I totally agree about not complaining this *winter* about the *cold*. 😉 I’ll be back stateside mid_Oct to mid_Nov so we’ll have to get a bunch together for some runs and biking. Then I’ll be back again around Jan 8 so we can do a couple of Huntsville runs if y’all want to see the new course. I would recommend at least one loop before the race. Happy training and I’ll see if I can check the blog every once and awhile while gone. Seya! 8)

Leave a Reply

