Uncategorized

Update…

An old picture of Huntsville state park…as I get so excited for Sunmart.  My first real race since Boston!!

Anyhow, I am now about a week into not breathing (aka the asthma attack from hell)    It’s getting better though as today I managed a 12 minute mile and could go up stairs.  Ugg, so annoying not to be able to do things.
Maybe it was the frustration of the asthma attack from hell, maybe I was just tired, but I found my self telling Mike out loud “I am not sure I want to run 100 miles any more.”  His advice was do what I want, not what I feel like I have to do…which was good advice.  I usually do what I feel like I have to do:  stay late at work, pick up the shift no one will take, go to volunteer work sick…gosh, I sounding like a martyr here, but I am really not trying to be one.  I just try very hard to have the attitude of suck it up.  there are a lot of things I don’t want to do, but sometimes just have to.  
Well, this is my hobby, so it’s ok to do it the way I want.  Maybe I’ll regret it when I can breathe again.  I don’t know.  But, I am super excited for Sunmart, super excited for  RR 50 mile, and not feeling overwhelmed at all.  I was looking forward to the camaraderie with Ryan and Mark on a loop or 2, and I do feel bad about backing out for that reason, but gotta keep it fun.
My original ultra running goals were to run and finish a 50 (done!), run and finish a 100 (done!), finish a race to get a buckle (done!).  I don’t feel I have anything else to prove.  The only goal I can really think of is I would like to go back to the MiWok 100K and do it again.  
Anyhow, thanks to my friends for their encouragement to run a 100.  Maybe next year.  Maybe never again (didn’t I promise that to Stephanie in the middle of the night in Vermont about 600 times!?!)
3 thoughts on “Update…”

  1. Laughing. Yes. You definitely said “Never Again.” That being said, if you put MiWok off long enough, I might join you for that repeat adventure. I was telling Bill about it the other night. If you’re going to run/hike for 62 miles, that’s definitely the place to do it!Glad you’re feeling better!!

  2. No worries. Sounds like you made the right decision. If it’s not fun, then you shouldn’t do it. There are better ways to spend 24+ hours than doing something you aren’t going to enjoy (relatively speaking, that is).

  3. I’m sorry to hear you were sick for so long but I’m glad you’ve had some time to reflect on life and priorities. Life’s too short. Enjoy it and do what makes you happy. Hope we can get together again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

