Uncategorized

Practicing pace part II…


Yesterday was the 22 mile marathon pacer practice run. I met my partner for the marathon and we hit it off right away. We both had never paced before, and we run about the same pace normally, so the 5 hour marathon was a little slow for both of us. We had almost a full marathon to practice.

We quickly dialed in on what we needed to do to run evenly paced miles for 22 miles. It went great. It is amazing how much better I feel after a long run just reeling in the pace a little bit. 22 miles is still a long way to go , but I didn’t have the exhaustion feeling that usually comes at the end. It was actually great practice for Rocky Raccoon. Running a steady, relaxed pace is exactly what must be done to have a good 50 miler, so it was a win-win run. Got to help a couple folks get 1 notch closer to their marathon goal, and I got a great RR practice run.

Ran with Mark this am, and we both agreed the next 2 weekends will be great with no pressure at all to do a really long run!

1 thought on “Practicing pace part II…”

  1. Sounds like you are getting dialed in on a good pace. I still haven’t gotten my long run in this weekend. I can’t wait to get it over with so I can relax the next couple of weeks as well!!

Leave a Reply

