Uncategorized

Taper happiness…

Normally I hate tapering; I am edgy and want to run and hate having to bring things down a notch. This time is different. I am tired. I could list all the things contributing to me requiring coffee every afternoon, but it’s not very interesting. I am just pooped. I realized it last week. I am glad I don’t have to do any fancy long runs this weekend. I am also freaking out about all kinds of little aches and pains in my back and hamstrings, but I think some of that should resolve.   I always go into these things wishing I had done more training.  Who doesn’t really?  But, I did the best I could.  Many weeks felt like a self imposed rat race.  Yeah, I could have done crazy things like gotten up at 330 am to get a longer run in, spent entire days on the greenbelt, and hit yoga class at 8pm.  But, I did what I could without sacrificing my other obligations.  We’ll see…am I nervous?  Always!  These runs always sound fun until I wake up the morning of and think the whole idea seems utterly ridiculous.  Why would anyone pay money to run a bunch of loops around a park for a sweatshirt?  It’s actually pretty embarrassing if you think about it…

This is week 2 of trying to lower my cholesterol.  I went for an asthma checkup and got the bonus news my cholesterol was too high.  My doctor told me the easiest way to remedy this is to get more cardiovascular exercise.  I just told her I couldn’t really do that…so I get the “then change your diet” option.  Week one was not bad.  I went shopping, and only bought brown rice, whole wheat pasta, lots of veggies, oatmeal with flaxseed, and no sweets (my favorite thing in the world).  I felt lean and healthy last week.  This week sucks.  All I can think about is food.  The whole grains don’t satisfy me like a piece of thick sourdough bread does.  And no sweets is absolute torture.  I dreamt of bakeries all last night.  I woke up in the middle of a dream that I was at a vegan bakery, eating a gigantic bowl of blueberry buckle.  I woke up starving.  I thought about sweets all day.  My coworker gave me a packet of organic fruit gummies.  It wasn’t the same as a cookie.   The oatmeal with flaxseed was horrible…it tasted like fish.   Coffee with skim milk and not half and half just ain’t coffee.  I suspect I will get used to these little changes over time and probably not continue all of them, but I am going to keep trying.  Runners cannot eat whatever they want, some can, but not me.   I could really go for a piece of apple pie right now though…
Finally, it’s the little things in life that matter:  Lost and Big Love are back on!   I am not running tomorrow and get to sleep until 630!  Red wine is on the low cholesterol diet!  Coraline comes out next weekend…goths all over America will rejoice!   And…..I get to run 50 miles in 1 more week!

3 thoughts on “Taper happiness…”

  1. A couple of comments — First, there are a lot of people who understand why you would spend all day running loops around the park. I’m one of them. It’s certianly not about the sweatshirt. It’s about that feeling you get when you cross the finish line, and it’s also about the journey. Even this time, you’ve learned some things about yourself. It’s totally worth it. Congrats on making it to the end of your trianing!As for your doc’s advice to get more cardio exercise — that’s hilaroius! I hope the diet gets easier for you.Good luck next weekend!!

  2. You’re going to do GREAT at Rocky! Everything in moderation…when it comes to food. Going cold-turkey imho is bad…real bad.LOST is making me sleepless. Too many scenarios going on in my little head.

  3. You will do great at RR! I agree with the diet, it so hard, I need to get a checkup from the doctor, but probably won’t like what he says.I love “Big Love” as well. I don’t have cable but catch it when I’m out of town in a hotel. Hope to meet up with you sometime as you pass me on the trail next week!

Leave a Reply

