Uncategorized

Interview…


This is from Mark. It is way to interview your friends. Here are the rules:

1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond with five questions (I get to pick the questions).
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview others in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Ok, here are Mark’s questions, and my answers:

1. How did you get into trail/ultra running and what keeps you coming back?

I always enjoyed trail running and avoiding cars.  I had heard about Sunmart, and read about Western States, and thought, “maybe someday, but who am I kidding?”  After I met some folks who had run ultras it seemed more doable, and I started training for Sunmart.

2. Regardless of the actual race, which of your many running trips was the most memorable, and why?

That is a hard question.   I think I would have to say the St George marathon.  I had the best prerace dinner ever, and afterwards, stayed at an incredible little lodge in the canyons of Zion national park.  My friends, and Mike both came, making it a very memorable trip.

3. 100 milers are notorious for your brain doing funny things in the latter stages. Some runners hallucinate, while I seemingly lost the ability to do simple arithmetic. What is the most bizarre thing that happened to you during (or after) your 100?

Magic Kitty.  Stephanie and I were running along a rock wall, which they seemed to have all over Vermont.  At the end a little black and white kitty jumped out, started purring and rubbing against my legs.  This was at mile 80 something, so he was a welcome visitor (and pretty cute).  The above photo is from Vermont.

4. What songs make the top of your running playlist?

I like all my old school music when I run.  It is the only time I really listen to it.  Currently, NoMeansNo, Minor Threat, Avail, and when I want to sing along, The Smiths.

5. Any tips for aspiring trail/ultra runners?

Eat a lot on your runs.   Pace yourself.  You literally have all day.
3 thoughts on “Interview…”

  1. Great answers. I love the idea of a “magic kitty” appearing to help you through low points at Vermont. Very “spirit worldy”.

  2. I think Magic Kitty really was magic. It was like he came out of nowhere, just when you absolutely needed some encouragement. Here’s to Magic Kitty.

Leave a Reply

