Uncategorized

Boo-hiss….

I should be out in the pines about 10-15 miles into a 50K right now. But, we were rained out. A little rain never deters most runners, but this was pretty extreme with big lightning, and it’s
not safe or reasonable to ask the volunteers to deal with that. First I am going to rant: we trained hard, and I am stressing the WE part. Steve, Meghan and I spent at least 4 hours a Saturday for the last 6 weeks or so training. Steve is not a trail runner, and I was really excited I got him to come along for the ride. I know he was both excited and nervous to try a 50K. I also hate to “waste” the training. It is difficult to explain getting to what is a peak fitness, and then letting go. A lot of runners get a little post race depression. When you put a lot of time and energy into anything, and then it is over, there is a little sense of “What’s next?” Plus, I spent all week building up my freakin‘ manic tendencies with no race to channel them into (see…being crazy is ok, so long as you admit you are crazy!). We all had a big pre race dinner together last night that I cooked for, so we had turned a small, little local race into a bit of an event for ourselves. Finally, I don’t know when I’ll get to do an ultra run again for quite a while. I have a lot of family obligations coming up, and while I am NOT complaining about these, it does mean no travel runs. I already wrote off the summer trail series second to cost. Sunmart is a great thing to train for all summer, but it no longer exists…so yeah, unless I make my own (which I could), no ultra runs.

Ok, now to be positive. You cannot control the weather. It’s never good to get upset about things out of your control. In the big picture this isn’t a huge deal. Not running because of injury would be MUCH worse. I didn’t book a plane ticket (like the Western States runners did last year when it got canceled). I didn’t train for 6 months. I’ve done some pretty neat things in my lifetime, and this wasn’t going to be the be all end all. Plus, I do have the Anchorage Marathon in August…which…drumroll….I am going to try and eek a Boston qualifier out of. So I cannot completely sit on my ass all summer.

Sooooo, I am going to try and suck it up. It’s hard for me to explain why this race was something I was looking so forward to, and why it more important to me than your average little local run, but it is not meant to be. Time to be positive…..

2 thoughts on “Boo-hiss….”

  1. I totally get the mental downer, and I’m so sorry you guys didn’t get to run.The pre-race dinner was excellent though – long live Cowman A-Moo-Ha!!!

Leave a Reply

