Uncategorized

New Adventure…

About this time last year, Mark and I started planning our assault on the Rocky Raccoon 100/ 50 mile race in February. The heavy training didn’t start until August/ Sept, but in June we were starting to plan. At the time February seemed liked a really long ways off, and as the months went by and we trained harder and harder, we kept checking them off, and before I knew it, race day was here. Well, I have a similar scenario this year. A big February event. Not quite 100 miles, but I think it will be just as hard (maybe harder!)
Scroll down to get some more info…

A little more…..

There you have it….yes, that is really my insides, and Spec or Little Stevie 2 as he/she is called (there is a Little Stevie One that belongs to someone else) So, yeah, now you know the REAL reason I’ve cut my running back. I could write a very long story about coming to this decision, and how stressful I found the process, but I’ll spare you. I am doing well, a little tired and puking a bit, but still running in the morning, so I am happy.

While I never really considered myself an athlete, I suppose my high running mileage, plus hiking, yoga, etc, made me more active than a lot of folks. It is tough to know I’ll be heavily modifying this lifestyle for about a year. I am trying to be positive thinking that a year is just a blip in a lifetime, and I have spent 20 years so far running and racing. It is tough to hear of friends’ fall marathon and ultra plans knowing I won’t be in other than as a volunteer, but I know the running will be there waiting for me after I go down a new path in my life, I might have really regretted not going down.

There is no magical number of what amount of running is safe in pregnancy. I wish there was. My doctor is someone I used to work with who knows me pretty well, so she has given me a mileage number I think I can live with ….of course I would like to sneak in more, but I am trying to behave. Still hitting yoga once a week, and once this 100 degree+ heat wave ends (like in October!) I plan to resume hiking. Trail running is out (boo-hiss!) due to the risk of falling, but I’ll take what I can get and hopefully I can keep it up as long as possible. My goal is to run in some fashion for my whole pregnancy, but I know a lot of factors are out of my control. All I can do is hope for the best and start training for this very big adventure.

9 thoughts on “New Adventure…”

  1. Congrats, Clea!Nell (my wife) had the same reservations/concerns about exercise (or lack thereof) during her pregnancy. We found at she was pregnant a couple months after we ran Marine Corps. Ezra (our kiddo) was born in late August 2007, and Nell got back to her yoga and ran a half marathon a few months later. No worries.Being a parent is AWESOME!!!

  2. Woo hoo! A little bird told me this news a couple days ago, but I didn't know if it was out-of-the-bag yet. Soooo happy for you! Oh, and the key to managing the nausea as much as possible is protein. Lots of it. Like every hour. Even a few bites of plain yogurt when you wake up in the night will help. Take care, mama!

Leave a Reply

