Uncategorized

Update…

Jasper was visited this weekend by his Cousin McKenna and his Aunt Jodi. It was nice to have company and an occasional extra set of hands. We suffered a little setback this week, as Jasper was banned from sleeping in his swing, per his pediatrician, due to its potential to turn the back of his head into a serving platter. So, I went from having him waking up one time a night and falling asleep within 30 minutes or so, to waking up every 1.5-2 hours and taking about 3 hours to fall asleep due to his distaste for his bassinet, aka the bed of nails. I admit it was frustrating to revert back to a state I thought we had left behind, and for going back to sleeping just a couple hours a night. Last night I slept for 2 hours upright in a chair (not on purpose, I just fell asleep trying to get the Owl to cooperate), and my neck and upper back are telling me to keep up my yoga. Ouch! Isn’t there some famous quote “You can sleep when you’re dead.”? I guess I’ll keep that in mind.

Anyhow, thank god for baby yoga. We went twice this week and did 2 DVDs at home and I continue to try and master crow pose. Baby yoga has proven to be a godsend….I HIGHLY recommend it to all my friends with babies who are not yet crawling. So the 40 day challenge is really working. I am committed to trying and making this part of my life everyday. I will not be able to run huge mileage for awhile, but I love the idea of still being in the best shape I can be in via other routes. One day I have a goal of taking the yoga instructor training. I am so convinced of its benefits. I also did my first bike trainer session this week too. Poor planning on my part led to a short session, and I mostly just spun my legs, but I am aiming to get back to 1 day a week of a spin workout.
And, my biggest news is I ran 12 MILES!!! Thanks to Mark for joining me for 8 (he was sick, so that handicapped him to my pace), and then Mike met me for 4 more. It went great, and I am so excited about my upcoming half marathon. I am only nervous about sleeping the night before at my sister in law’s, which I suspect means Jasper will not sleep. I definitely see a correlation in my pace to how much sleep I get the night before.
All in all we are doing well. This is my last week of maternity leave and I am at a work conference for 2 days. I am trying to be very optimistic that once Jasper has a week or so in daycare we will adjust. I admit it is a little scary to take on this new challenge of a major change, when I feel like we are still adjusting to life at home, but I just tell myself a lot of other people get through this, so I should be able to also.
Leave a Reply

