Uncategorized

Vegan cookies, Jasper is a foodie, day care crud AGAIN, and Mama does hill repeats


A lot of people have asked me for the recipe for my vegan cookies. So here it is…..

1 good sized ripe banana
1/3 c canola oil
2/3 c sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Combine these all in a mixer, until mushy, then add:
3/4 c flour
2 Tbsp ground flax
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
2 c. oats
Mix it all, and add 3/4 c of mini chocolate chips (use vegan chocolate if you are a strict vegan. It is sold at Whole Foods and Central Market). The batter is pretty runny. Heap in globs on an ungreased cookie sheet. Cook at 350 for 7-10 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown. Remove off the cookie sheet right away or they will stick. Enjoy.
Jasper started to sample little bits of food. He decided rice cereal blows, and went right for the sweet potatoes. I think he got my sweet tooth. He also has to have 1 meal of formula a day because he out eats what I am able to make. Slow down, Little Dude! He doesn’t really eat much yet but 1-2 bites a day, but I may get a little relief from feeding him soon.
Speaking of, I have kicked off marathon training, and Wednesday is a workout day. The first half of the program is hill repeats, and then the second half is tempo runs. I ran a mile and a half to the Cherrywood neighborhood, and repeated a street appropriately named Hemlock. I had a nice audience of 3 kitties who were hanging out at 545 in the morning. Then I headed to Cherrywood St to repeat it a couple times. Ever run a hard workout after breastfeeding all night (sorry to my guy friends for having to read this)….well, it means a major bonk. I was STARVING. It made me get home quick. I was shaky by the time I got home. I may have to resort to bringing a GU on weekday runs. That’s a lot of GU… BUT, I did hill repeats, on my own, leaving my house at 530. That was no easy feat.
Well, gotta run. The Owl needs a bath. Oh yeah, we both got another F-ing cold. This one is not near as bad as the last one, but this week off in between illnesses thing is BS. I seriously need to get some immunity.
1 thought on “Vegan cookies, Jasper is a foodie, day care crud AGAIN, and Mama does hill repeats”

  1. Yeah Jasper!!For Mothers' Day, Bill got me this cool steamer/puree baby appliance. You might check it out. At first, I thought it was going to be a lot of trouble, but it turned out to be super easy. It makes baby food out of fruit in about 2 minutes and for the stuff you have to steam (like sweet potatoes), I've been making those on the weekends in bigger portions and freezing small portions for weeknights. WAY cheaper than the bottled baby food — I think it will pay for the appliance in the long run. Fun stuff. Like Jasper, Amelia doesn't eat a lot of solids yet (only one time a day), but she started sleeping a lot better almost immediately after she figured out how to actually swallow it and not spit it all out. Hopefully for you too!

Leave a Reply

