Uncategorized


Today’s planned 20 miler did not happen. I thought it would be a bad idea to run after throwing up all day yesterday. To rewind….Mike’s been sick, Jasper had his UTI, but I suspected something else, as he had 2 massive throw ups in day care. I felt off all week. I couldn’t hit any times in my runs. I had little runs of aches and chills, and I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath. I made excuses for all of: asthma, something I ate, taking too many ibuprofen but I finally had to admit defeat. I had the stomach flu. Something I haven’t had since childhood. I’ve had food poisoning, bad morning sickness, bad hangover, but not puking your guts out with a fever and every bone in your body hurting. It really is super unpleasant. I tried to tough it out at work since if I went home I would have Jasper to take care of and I actually figured that staying at work throwing up was easier. Yes, I’ve hit a new low. But when I didn’t make it to the bathroom in time (thank god for trashcans), I threw in the towel and left, driving home with a plastic bag in my lap and Jasper in the back. Luckily the day was about over, so Mike could come home and help me. Until about 4pm I still planned to run, “I’ll just slam gatorade all night!” I thought. Finally when nothing had stayed in me all day and it was the early evening, I emailed out my cancellation from the group run.

Good news is I am much better today. I went very slow with food and really tried to hydrate. I am going to attempt to run tomorrow. I am hoping I’ll be done with illness by then.
Yes, as per my last post, a lot can happen training for a race. While I place a high priority on running, the truth is it is down my priority list after family and work, so I can’t be too upset. I kinda feel like I missed this whole week from training. I cut just about every run short. But, I think weeks like this will happen. I am getting exposed to all kinds of illnesses I haven’t dealt with since I was a kid. This isn’t the last time I am going to get sick in the midst of training. I took advantage of not running by going to a real, not with babies yoga class. It was my old Saturday class I was a regular at pre-Jasper, and never get to go to anymore. I forgot how awesome it is to leave feeling like every muscle in my body got worked and stretched. I really need to work on running less so I can do stuff like this, but it’s hard to give up a run.
So with a little luck, and a little pasta I hope to keep down, I am going to give it a go in the morning!
Leave a Reply

