Uncategorized

Up next…

The Estes Park marathon has been one on my bucket list.  We first went to Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP) a couple of years ago, and last summer it was Jasper’s first mountain trip.  I decided doing a marathon here was a must do, as every direction has incredible mountain views.   Now a real Coloradan probably poo-poos Estes Park, as it is a little tourist town outside the National Park.  I like that is hasn’t gotten too big over the years, and while a little junky in places, it totally lacks pretension like Santa Fe, or Lake Tahoe.  It is also a very easy place to get to with a child.  Flying to Denver is a 2 hour direct flight and then another hour drive or so and you’re there.  Jasper also flies free just a little longer, so we knew this summer we needed to do the trip again.  Mike was gracious enough to agree to plan it around the marathon.

I started planning my training today.  Kind of ambitious for someone with a hacking cough and a big toenail with a giant blood blister under it.  But, in marathon terms, June is not far off.  So check out this elevation chart!!!   I looked up past results, and last year’s women’s winner came in right at 4 hours.  I am guessing that it may take me 4:30, but I really have no idea.  The men’s winner barely broke 3 hours.  This tells me this race is really a mini-ultra and I will need to treat it as such.  There will be no crowd support, so I may take an ipod on this on.  It will be a conservative first half for sure, because do you see that hill!?!

I pulled up my plan I used for the Frankenthon.  While I am intrigued by the Hanson’s plan I mention several posts back, that has shorter long runs and longer mid-week runs, I think traditional long runs will be the way to go for this one for a couple of reasons.  First off, I tried the Hanson plan  a little and it is very difficult for me to run longer runs before work.  I already get up at 430 most days, and 400 on the day I meet Mark.  Getting up at 400 everyday is just too much.   The other reason is that this run is going to take me a whole hour longer than a regular marathon (I am guessing).  I think time on my feet is beneficial.  Now I limit my long runs to 3 hours and will still do so, but I can cover a lot of distance in 3 hours.

I will also need more hill work than I currently do.  Austin is actually quite hilly, but all the hills are in west Austin and I live in east Austin.   I’ve got a  couple short but steep hills nearby that I will just have to repeat to death.

So I mapped out the schedule and it actually started last weekend.  Yikes!  I guess running a marathon to kick off your marathon training is not the worst idea ever.   Due to the fact I am recovering, plus getting over being sick, I pushed my start back a couple of weeks.

The best part about this race?  Mike and Jasper will get to be at the finish!!  I am sure I will have lots of posts about the training.  After this one the next goal is to break my ancient PR.  I better get some rest….sounds like I will be busy.

3 thoughts on “Up next…”

  1. Sounds like a great race with some awesome views. Spent some time in Estes Park and just loved the little town and great views. Looking forward to hearing how the training goes!

  2. Pei pa koa is pretty decent cough medicine (from herbal as I remembered), great non alcoholic medicine, some western cough medicine are more effective, but this is non drowsy.

    You can access info online @
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nin_Jiom_Pei_Pa_Koa
    ninjiom.50webs.com

Leave a Reply

