Uncategorized

Running podcasts…

Ok, a little background.  I started my current job 3 years ago, and it was the first desk job I have ever had.  I quickly found it is challenging to sit all day and not have moments of feeling like I could drift off to sleep.  I started listening to my ipod and Pandora.  That got old quick, so I started podcasts.  I listened to every single This American Life.    10 years worth.  Keep in mind, I worked about 10 hours a day, and it took me a long time to go through them all.  The I started searching for other stuff.  RadioLab is another fave, and American Radio Works.   All three of these have stories so incredible and moving, sometimes it was hard to focus on my work.   So I now save them for times I am not doing very intense work and can let me mind drift a bit.  Another goodie is Splendid Table, but don’t listen to it if you are hungry.

Enter running podcasts.  Mark started me off with Marathon Talk, which led to me search for others like it.  I quickly discovered RunningPodcasts.org.   It lists them all, and I had no idea there were so many out there.  I’ve tried several, and some are really just someone detailing their training, which can be pretty boring.  But some are quite interesting with good interviews.    If you don’t listen at work, a good thing to do is load up your ipod if you have a long run you are doing on your own.  Or, load up a one hour show, and head out, and you’ve got a nice little timer for an easy run.   Here are some of my faves:

1.  Marathon Talk    This one is very well done.  The interviews are excellent with folks from Paula Radcliffe,  to Scott Jurek, to exercise physiologist Tim Noakes.  Excellent training tips, and very entertaining.  Shows are about an hour long.

2.  RunRunLive This is another very professionally done, excellent show.  It’s funny, the interviews are very well done, and it’s all from the mid-pack runner’s perspective.  I love the fact this show interviews people like Dean Karnazes and the director of the Boston marathon, but also very average people too.  This show is about 40 minutes long.

3.  RunVeganRun Some of these can get rambling, and sometimes the audio is bad, but the host, Meghan just seems like someone I would want to hang out with.

4.  This Running Life This show used to be called “Run to Disney”, and I kinda preferred it then.  It chronicles the host’s start into marathoning, with the Disney races being the goal.  I liked it because I was never really sure if the Disney races would be for me, but the show made them sound fun….especially if you have kids, the main reason I would want to do it.  This one can also get a little rambling at times.

5.  Endurance Planet This show recently got new ownership that is not nearly as good as it used to be.  Search the archives for some fantastic interviews with elite athletes and regular people alike doing incredible things.   Interviews with both runners and triathletes.  It’s not very long, so load up a bunch of interviews if you are taking it on a run.

6.  Geeks in Running Shoes This one is from the beginner’s perspective.  The guys that do it are IT guys, so it is well produced.  The manage some pretty good interviews (like Scott Jurek).  Even though it is more for a beginner, they seem genuine and funny, so I really enjoy it.  Plus, they laugh at themselves a lot, which I can appreciate.

That’s the bulk of what I listen to.  Occasionally I hit some of the other stuff on RunningPodcasts.org.  I admit I’ve barely put a dent in it, but I find that many of them are just one person talking while out on a run, which can get boring.  I’ll post some more from time to time.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

