Cake after her 6 mile run. I didn't have the heart to move her and make the bed.

I’m on my lunch break.  I have a mandatory 30 minute punch out, which really isn’t long enough to go anywhere and is too long to keep working and not get paid for it, so I stuff my face with overcooked cafeteria veggies and get on my blog.

This weekend things start ramping up for my June marathon.  I think I’ve hit the point where just about every weekend I can say “Crap, I have a hard run tomorrow.”  I also keep wondering how long Mark is going to join me on these long runs since he is not training for a June marathon.  It’s so much easier to start at 530 when someone is meeting you.

Been listening to a ton of running podcasts at work lately.  I learn something new everyday.  It’s interesting how some think you should do your long runs at marathon pace, and some think you should slow it down by a minute per mile or 2.  I’ve been trying to do mine at marathon pace, maybe a little slower, but mainly just to get them done and over with so I can get home to the little boy.  Marathontalk had a really good two part interview with Jeff Galloway.  He did make a pretty convincing argument for short walk breaks thoughout the marathon.   I was almost convinced.  In essence I guess I do this a little bit because I’ll take just a step or two when I grab water to make sure I get it down and not just spill most of it.  I know in June, I will really need to get that water down.  Colorado has no humidity and seems so dry to me since I am used to running in humidity of 80% or more.   Anyhow, you should check it out.   I also learned about the Paelo diet (what a bunch of crap…in my opinion), and I’ve learned a ton about the cult that is barefoot running, but still swear by my Asics and my orthotics.

Ok, I think I need to find some chocolate or something sweet to counteract these veggies, and then it’s back to work.  I am sooooo glad it is Friday.

One Reply to “”

  1. Man, I am 110% with you on the barefoot running front. I’ve run into more ‘I’m better since I run barefoot’ and ‘that happened because you don’t run barefoot’ kind of folks than I care to remember. I don’t berate you for not wearing shoes, and since when did running become clique-ish!? Aren’t we just all here to run!?

Leave a Reply

