It was one of those weeks.  I’ve been wanting to sit down at the computer all week, and never got a chance.   I’ve had a million things I wanted to write about, but nothing materialized.  So here goes my attempt to string all the random thoughts together.

I was busy this week due to a national conference my department at work puts on.   It’s actually one of the things I really like about my job.  I don’t do any of the hard work like coordinating all the speakers and booking venues, I just work the check in, man the information table, and while the speakers are going, either go in and listen and goof off with co-workers.   The downside is every year we are at in from 6am to 6pm.   The evenings are hectic, and add to it the exhaustion of going all day on 4 hours of sleep, thanks to the little boy who thinks he’s a newborn again, and I am crashed out by 900….and not getting much of anything done at home.

So yes, Jasper hasn’t slept well in two weeks now, and while I don’t want to do a big pity party post, at the start of hour 3 of his awake time last night, I had a moment of “how much longer do I have until this gets better?  A year and a half isn’t enough?”  So, I sit here this evening hopeful that tonight will be the night it gets better.  That’s about all I can do.

My week actually started pretty good with a terrific Ashtanga class on Sunday.  It seemed like I am getting it a little more since my last class, but Monday I was still super sore.   I am officially hooked.    I am going again this weekend, which is probably not the best idea since I have a marathon in a week, but oh well.

And yes, I have a marathon in a week!!!  Reality check time.  I am honestly super nervous about traveling with Jasper.   I just want a nice vacation, and I don’t want to spend it not sleeping.  This is my third marathon since I had Jasper and it would be nice if it could be the first one I actually went into rested.  So far for the other two I had to get up a few times the night before.

Tomorrow kicks off training for the San Antonio marathon.  But for me I have a taper week, a marathon, and then a couple of recovery weeks.   I plan to take full advantage of them and enjoying sleeping in to the late hour of 530.

Ok…hopefully more this weekend, but signing off for now.  New geeky running books call….

3 Replies to “”

  1. I can’t wait to read your race report, already!!

    It’s uncanny how kids go through weird sleeping spells. So frustrating. You definitely had a crazy busy week though, and knowing a vacation is right around the corner sounds perfect!!

    Hope things slow down for you!!

  2. Good luck on your marathon next weekend, i can’t wait to hear how it goes. Also hoping you can go in well rested!

Leave a Reply

