Uncategorized

The arm…

Breakfast of champions, shredded wheat tortilla and a chunk of cheese

Another sleep through the night last night.    I do not remember the last time I did not get up 2 nights in a row.  I did wake up a few times…and Pancake’s obsessive licking of her feet is a bit of a nuisance, but I did not GET up.  I stayed in my bed all night.  No sitting in a rocking chair for 2 hours thinking “my alarm is about to go off.”  Are we finally done with routine wake ups?   I don’t want to jinx it, but after a year and a half I am ready!

Did another loopy, baby monitor check run.  I started at 5am, baby monitor set up on the mailbox, the very excellent RunRunLive podcast fired up.  Off I went.  1 mile, 2 miles, 3 miles, 4 miles, with a glance at the monitor that was turned up full blast about every minute.  At 4.5 miles there it was:  a little arm poking out between the crib railings, working on untying the crib bumper, which is Jasper’s preferred method of self soothing.  It was also about 5:40…too early for him to be up.  No sounds though, so I thought, “let me see if I can get one more little loop.”  Next loop, silence from the monitor and the little arm still there.  Next loop, silence and no arm, and I continued.  I went on this way until my goal, 6 miles.  At 6 I got greedy, and decided to make it 6.2 for a nice pre-work 10K.  I ran by the monitor after I hit 6.2 and there it was:  sounds coming from the monitor.  The little boy was up.  It was 6am, a little early, but he had slept 10.5 hours straight…..and I managed my run.  I love it when a totally crazy idea works!

3 thoughts on “The arm…”

  1. Aaaaah!! YAY! Hopefully it sticks!! Doesn’t it feel amazing!?

    Cute method on the self soothe!! I’ve never seen that before. I’m tempted to go check my monitor’s range……

  2. Yay!!! Lots of sleep for Jasper with no wake-ups!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So happy for you!

    I’ve always wondered if that would work for me. My husband and I often wonder if we could run around the block (.25 mile, I think)- leave the house locked, monitor on, etc. Hmm… 🙂

  3. Cute story about the arm, and I’m super impressed with your determination to fit everything in. I hope he keeps it up with the good sleeping.

    3.5 weeks and counting with the broken toe. I can do yoga, swimming, eliptical, walking, but no running yet b/c the only shoes I can wear are sandals or the post-op shoe the podiatrist gave me.

    Hope to see you before too long.

Leave a Reply

