Uncategorized

Jasper’s loss, my gain…

Me, Steve and Stephanie when we knocked out Utah on the states list, at the St George marathon (which is excellent, BTW).

Does anyone else have a kid that suffers from mommyitis?  Jasper has it bad, and it has reached new heights.  It means only mama can do anything for/ with him.  Oh, and I can never leave.  This means in his world only I can put him to bed and I can never leave the room.  If I do screaming, tears, the works.  It means asleep by 800 and morphed into “I finally let mama leave my room at 1030pm.  I’m asleep the whole time, but somehow if she makes a move I wake up and freak out.”  So over the last couple months, any time in the evenings has been canceled out for me.  Not just leisure time, but the time when I got some house work done, did any baking, or returned friends’ emails.  Mike has tried to intervene, but it seems to make things worse for Jasper.

The solution?  One night a week I am leaving the house.  Jasper will have a mama free night to hopefully help him get over the mama addiction.  It means I get a night to go do anything.  Oh, the possibilities!  Last night I tried a new yoga place.  I’m not gone for hours, just a couple, but that is long enough.  Of course Jasper went nuts when I left and I was later told of things he said like “Mama, home!” “Mama, car!” (at least he put two words together…this is a big step).  So it’s a mixed bag.  I am looking forward to my night off, but feeling terrible about it all at once.  We shall see if it does anything…

In other news, I am enjoying my prep for the Missoula marathon.  I can’t really call it training, as I am just putting in the necessary miles distance wise, but not worrying about pace.  It will soon be hot here, and most of us slow down some.  This is also a vacation, so while I don’t want to humiliate myself on the run, I won’t be expecting a PR.    It’s nice to just get up and check off the distance and not fret that I seem to just get slower.

Well, time to get a thing or two done while the silent one is in speech.  I gotta plan out my next night out!

1 thought on “Jasper’s loss, my gain…”

  1. Oh, that’s rough- I hope it’s a short phase! L has been more insistent at times that I am the only one that can do something silly for her, but bedtime has been daddy’s domain for a long time, so thankfully, I don’t have to worry about it there. Enjoy your extra hours to yourself!

Leave a Reply

