Uncategorized

More jump…

Up to no good…

We’ve been swimming our behinds off this summer.  Between the splash pad and pools we are in the water 2-3 days a week.  Jasper seems to have found his sport…at least for now.  I am truly impressed by his swim lessons.  At age 2 he’s swimming, and I cannot take any credit for it.  This summer I enrolled him in an actual swim school, and it was worth the little bit of extra money.  We went to the pool yesterday and for TWO HOURS he jumped from the edge and swam out to me, then I lifted him back to the edge, and repeat process.  My arms hurt today.  At any hint of leaving I got a firm “More Jump!”   with “more” in baby sign language quite forcefully.  Certainly this could get marked down in a training log if I kept one, right?  I wish I could somehow take off the whole summer so we could swim everyday; he loves it so much.   I am so thankful we have a lot of pools in our area.  We have a free one we go to and a really nice one that costs a couple bucks, and the splash pad is free.  I also am thankful for Athleta athletic swimsuits that are super comfortable and  don’t subject other pool patrons to the fact I eat too many cupcakes.  

Ok…so I guess there’s one good thing about this summer.  Jasper has become a swimming machine!

4 thoughts on “More jump…”

  1. Wow, that’s so impressive! Like Natalie, mine daughter is definitely a bit hesitant. She loves the baby pool but freaked out in swim lessons when she was supposed to hang onto a noodle and her feet weren’t touching any ground…. so we’re backing off for now. But we’ve been spending lots of time at the pool, too!

    1. Micki and Laura…we go to Emler swim school. I believe it is a national chain. They really know how to coax kids into the water and not make them fearful. If you have one in your area I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

