Uncategorized

Fail and succeed…

Pre-swim apple sauce snack.

Mark and I ran this morning and we were talking about motivation.  The reason I like to do  fall marathons is I like the motivation during the tough summer months.  I don’t have any trouble going for a run most of the time, but keeping up the long runs, or the hard runs isn’t easy in our Texas summers without something on the calendar.   More and more I am figuring out to plan out what I want to do for the week and just know that a couple workouts will not happen, and that’s just the way it’s going to be.   This week had a speed workout that was a 6 miler with 3 minute intervals in it.  I got that one done.  yay.  My schedule also had a 10 miler on it.  Big fail.  Am I  the only one who just cannot seem to get the mid distance midweek runs done?   I had some bad sleep nights and jus could not force myself to get up early enough for the 10 miles.   I also had my “strength training” yesterday during Jasper’s nap.   Another fail.  No nap, so I got about half of it done while I let Jasp eat a snack in front of the tv.  Aside note:  I really need to rename the strength training…”exercises I keep hearing are really good for me, but I really hate doing”.    How does that sound?

We runners (or triathletes) are hard on ourselves.  Our lives are as full as anyone else’s and we are trying to cram in daily workouts on top of it all.  Each week I can shoot for the moon, knowing there is no way I’ll get there, but hopefully I’ll get most of the way.   I’ve finally learned to just keep evenings free.   Maybe you get things done in the evenings…I never do.  This week my only evening goal was Olympic watching, and that I could manage.  

One workout we do keep managing is swimming, swimming, swimming.  I am so proud of Jasp and what a good swimmer he’s become.   Not like I haven’t mentioned it a million times.  There’s nothing like watching the huge grin creep across his face as he launches himself into the water.  Post swim cupcakes are nice too.  🙂

1 thought on “Fail and succeed…”

  1. I am so impressed with Jasper’s swimming! That makes dealing with this heat so much more bearable. Yes- I’m right there with you on exericses I hear are good for me, but don’t really like doing! I’ve been better the last two weeks, as I’ve been taking a running break, but as my running ramps up, it is so hard to fit it all in. Sounds like you’re doing as well as you can! Half is better than nothing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

