Uncategorized

Pumpkin syrup and 187…

This is why he drinks about 8 glasses of milk a day..the boy burns some energy.
Yes it did go splat I had to buy it.
Every year millions of innocent pumpkins give up their lives for Starbucks to make a syrupy $5 drink.

Yesterday was my last longish run until post marathon.  It went very well.  I don’t even know how long it took me because I never looked.  But, I ran big hills, felt good, and had plenty of energy at the end.  I also had the realization that yesterday’s run is what running should be from now on.  Weekends are no longer about me….they are all about Jasp.  I was just happy to get out for a 16 miler and knock it off my list without worrying about “how I did”.  The rest of the day was all things Jasper, as you can see by the pictures.  If his interest in all things active holds up, I have a lot of kid’s sports in my future.  Going to swimming lessons is the highlight of my weekend, as it should be.  I’ll have a lot more of Jasp activities as he gets older.   Weekend runs are great and they’ll still keep happening, I just can’t take them to seriously.  And, doesn’t mean I’m not super excited to put on a race number in a couple weeks and shake out the cobwebs.  It’s been about 6 months since I’ve done a race.

And damn you Starbucks for making a $5 drink I get addicted to every fall.    I am ashamed that I had two pumpkin spice lattes this weekend.

Finally, I’ve been walking once a week.  It’s to give my legs a run break and still get a little exercise.  I did 3 miles before work on Friday.  It took about an hour.  I had my garmin on, and while I generally do not pay attention to such things, it noted calories burned.  187.  Are you kidding me?  That’s about 3/4 a granola bar.   That’s depressing.  You would think going out and brisk walking for an hour would at least burn through a cupcake.  Ignorance is bliss when it comes to calories.  I’d freak if I knew how many I ate and how many I burned if I actually tracked it.   187.  That’s probably 2 tablespoons of a pumpkin spice latte.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin syrup and 187…”

  1. You need to crack sub-13 min/mile in walking! this is where the power is:) And I hear you on the kids weekend. Even as they grow up, this one was all about driving him to various places – across town! – and picking him up, and not having enough time in-between to do much myself.

    1. yes, I have heard from a lot of people that school age kids actually keep you busier than toddler do because of the activities. Oh well, bring it on. Nothing wrong with an active kid!

Leave a Reply

