Uncategorized

Decker Challenge Half Marathon…

This has nothing to do with the race.  Just Jasp being Jasp.  He is currently in a "no shoes ever" phase.
This has nothing to do with the race. Just Jasp being Jasp. He is currently in a “no shoes ever” phase.

This will be a quick recap while the little one who never stops is actually napping.  Today was the Decker half marathon.  I think it might be Austin’s oldest race…maybe.  It’s claim to fame is tons of hills and atrocious weather.  This year was no exception:  75 and muggy as heck.  That means next year will be a freezing rain year.  I don’t get to this race every year, but I try to.  It’s out on country roads and is a really nice change of pace from all the Austin runs that go through downtown.  I wore my red compression rocks (they are soooo awesome), and a bright green Dogfish Head Ale tech shirt in hopes of looking Christmas-y.  Stephanie said my shirt was too bright and it didn’t quite work.  Darn….next year reindeer horns for sure.

Anyhow, met Steph and another running friend Elizabeth.  I told them I was going to see what I had today and was going to race it.  I knew I was a good minute a mile slower than my pace last year, but I wanted to feel like I put in an effort regardless of where that landed me.  I thought if I could keep it under 8:30s I would be thrilled (never mind a year ago was 7:30s…dang aging process).  So I took off about a 8 min pace and slowed into about 8:20s, slowing on the hills.  It felt good, but I was working.  I saw a friend at about the half way point and ran with her and her friend the rest of the way.  Sometimes I was just keeping them in sight, sometimes chatting, but it passed the miles really fast and helped me keep up the pace.  With chip time I made it in 1:48.  Which given my current running pace and the horrible weather, I was over the moon.  I did better than I thought I could which is always nice and doesn’t happen often.  This was my first half marathon as a masters runner, so I get to call it a PR.  Ha!

Oh and I forgot to mention other than the heat my other issue, aka excuse is getting Jaspy’s cold.  Yesterday after a nice 7 miler with Mark and Pancake I realized my throat hurt, by last night I had to admit I was coming down with it.  So I really wasn’t sure how this run would pan out.   I guess the daycare crud doesn’t have full hold of me yet, but that combined with sore legs tomorrow will make for a fun Monday.

Ok…time to get some things done before the hyper one wakes and we go get him new shoes and Fro Yo.  It’s a good day…

 

4 thoughts on “Decker Challenge Half Marathon…”

  1. Yay, Clea! Congrats on surprising yourself with an awesome time. It was tough yesterday. You seriously are considered “masters” already? Is it 40?

    1. You should do it! It’s my favorite road race. It’s an old school race without much fuss, just a tough course. It seems like it’s either really hot or really cold…so that’s why I predict freezing rain next year.

Leave a Reply

