2012 running recap…

I really am not clever enough to come up with stuff like this on my own.  Laura @ MommyRun Fast gave us the recap topics on her blog and suggested linking up.  See, this is the kind of thing real bloggers do.  It takes more time than “here’s a recap of my weekend” ( the kind of posts I do).  But one of the things I would like to do in 2013 is become more of a real blogger…so here goes:

  • Best Race experience:  Definitely the Route 66 marathon.  Not my best race, but so much fun to kick off being a masters runner with my best friends at a really unique fun event.  Plus, I kinda like saying “I went on vacation to Tulsa for my 40 birthday.”  Believe me, it keeps people guessing. 
  • Worst Race experience:  All the races I signed up for and didn’t go to.  Let’s not dwell on those.   Have I mentioned being more positive in 2013?
  • Best run:  That’s a hard one.  Sometimes the runs that kinda suck at the time are the best ones training wise.  I would say any run in the Texas summer over 2 hours long that doesn’t leave me feeling like crap all day.
  • Best new piece of gear:  That’s easy….compression socks.  Total nerd at the pre-race athlete's villageI think technically I discovered them in 2011, but this was the year I started wearing them on runs.  I guess you could say 2012 was also the year I started looking even geekier.  Is that even possible?  Yes, yes it is.
  • Best piece of running advice you received:  I don’t know if anyone gave me any running advice.  I don’ think I got any.  Anyone have any advice for me?
  • Most inspirational runner:  New blogging friends, Chrissie Wellington (ok, technically a triathlete, and pretty much all the interviewees on UltraRunnerPodcast
  • If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be?   I’m not a Deadhead but, What a long strange trip it’s been, instantly came to mind.  You’ll have to trust me on that one, but I just realized that’s more than a couple words.  Oh well, I’m sticking to it.
  • Running ups:  Marathon #24, 25, 26, and 27 done this year.  It’s not quite running, but mastered a headstand.   Found a pair of shoes like Mo Farah’s.
  • Running downs:  my arthritic feet.  Homeland season 2 just ended and I can’t wait until season 3.   I know that’s not running, but watching Homeland in compression socks eating popcorn the night after a long run?  Total recovery.
  • Surprise of the year:  Jasper loves running.   He still watches the Olympic marathons I DVR’d back in August.   I’ve seen Meb Keflezighi’s bio about 150 times this year.  I’m not kidding…

Thanks Laura for such a fun idea.  I”ll have to check out the other folks who linked up and see what other runners said.

10 Replies to “2012 running recap…”

  1. Wow, what a great year!

    I think your compression socks are awesome…I may even own the same pair! I bought them last year prior to the White Rock Marathon relay when it was 40 degrees outside and all I’d packed were capris. I found out a month later that I was pregnant with our second child and decided I was content with pushing the jogging stroller while walking only. They were great for my swollen preggo legs until it got too hot to wear them under my dress pants to work. Long story but compression socks (especially pink ones) are awe-some!

    1. Thanks for the real blogger comment! Seriously, those of you with more going on in your blogs put a lot of time into it that I don’t. All that linking and picture loading takes time. Try your popcorn with nutritional yeast. Soooo addictive.

  2. If I ran a little more, may be I would have needed compressions socks too…Great post, non-blogger! At least you’re not blogging more often than I am!

Leave a Reply

