Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater…

DSC_0286
In happier times of 60 degree winter days…

I’ll make this quick, as I’m about to pick up Jasp.  I totally cheated today on the single parent thing.  I had a dr appt, a car in the shop I needed to pick up (a challenging proposition when you have a toddler and no car seat in the car that needs to be picked up, and don’t even begin to think about how you get there), and a couple other things that I’d had on my “need to do but cannot do if Jasper is with me list”.   So I took a day off work and Jasp went to daycare.  The main reason to take off was for the car and it turns out it’s not even ready, so I have a very elaborate plan for tomorrow to get it that gave me a full blown panic attack this morning trying to figure out how to pull it off with said toddler and no car seat (long story).     So yeah, a real single parent probably doesn’t get to take days off work to get things done.  But I got to eek out a run this morning.  In 30 degrees and it’s not much warmer now.  Real winter is not really all that pleasant.   But Pancake and I got all kinds of wet and cold and got in some miles.

And true to form Jasper was sick this weekend.  It was pretty mild, but enough for me to say “WTF?”  and panic that I would have to take the whole week off work.  He seems better now.  I did ask him to repeat “Jasper is not sick” throughout the day.  It came out as “Fapper sick”.  But apparently it still worked as things didn’t seem to progress.

So we’ll see how and if running goes the rest of this week.   The Bob stroller weather shield is good but I don’t know if it’s 30 degrees good.  Creativity may ensue….

7 Replies to “Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater…”

  1. Yes! 30 degrees is nothin’!!! I’ve taken the kids out in the teens. Just bundle them up and go. The shield does a great job of retaining heat. I promise. Glad you gave yourself a day!!!!

Leave a Reply

