Uncategorized

The 50K and the Treddie…

First off, the weeks,  meal planning.  My version is a little sad, as always.  I admire the other ladies who do the meal planning link up and use it for inspiration.  It is definitely easier if you plan…but takes some work on the weekend. So here goes:

Left over grilled salmon (grilled a ton this weekend)

Veggie pizza for playdate night

Vegan crock pot lasanga

Grilled chicken (pre 50K dinner)

This week is all about trying to focus on my 50K.  It’s tough though..running ultras is a very selfish activity.  You get so focused on yourself, but yet I also try to be 100% present for my family, so race weeks I get a little overwhelmed and ask myself “Why in the heck did I sign up for this?”, but then end up having a really good time doing it.  I’m hoping that will be the case this time!

And in really exciting news, Mike and I decided that this will be the last trip he goes on (in the next week), that I am sans treadmill.   For 3 years I have toughed it out…..I’ve run up and down the a street with my house always in sight and a baby monitor in hand.  I’ve run while Jasper is in speech therapy busting my butt to finish by the time he’s done, I’ve run with the stroller in all kinds of weather, bribing Jasper with the iphone, snacks, an ipad, and his sleeping bag.  I only once broke down and got a baby sitter and fretted about how much each mile was costing.  In other words, I think I’ve been a good sport.  Being able get up early and run with much less effort will be wonderful.  And you cannot push a child in a stroller forever!  So I’m in the research phase of trying to figure out what I want, and thanking my lucky stars for a tax return this year…..More to come on this adventure, and recommendations are appreciated!

10 thoughts on “The 50K and the Treddie…”

  1. We got a Horizon treadmill at Academy. Did not do a lot of research and the one we got was what I would consider “middle of the line.” It has worked out very well. No issues at all. I love it.

    1. I think I will too! I just wonder what took me so long to decide…well I think the answer to that is the price tag, but if it get used it’s well worth it!

  2. I’m so excited for you to have a treadmill! And good luck on the 50k… that came up fast. I’m sure you’ll do great, as usual. Thanks for linking up!

  3. How exciting to have a 50K coming up! I’m in a all I do is train mode looking forward to my first ultra of the year. You’re going to do great! After a lot of research we just bought a treadmill! Woohoo! I will always prefer running outside but now there will be no more weather interrupted training 🙂

  4. Best of luck on PP50k! And I am glad you’re buying treadmill, you’re right, he won’t be in stroller forever. Great solution.

    1. I know, right? Also will come in handy on our super hot days. I may do all my long runs on it this summer! Good luck at your spring break race!

Leave a Reply

