Capital 10K + meal planning…

There may have been a pink cake made yesterday.  Did you know Duncan Hines cake mixes are vegan?  Sub. apple sauce for eggs and you are good to go.
There may have been a pink cake made yesterday. Did you know Duncan Hines cake mixes are vegan? Sub. apple sauce for eggs and you are good to go.
I may or may not have also had a piece of this rainbow cake at a birthday party.  It's a vegan rainbow cake!  Only in Austin...
I may or may not have also had a piece of this rainbow cake at a birthday party. It’s a vegan rainbow cake! Only in Austin…

Today was the Capital 10K.  I really prefer longer distances, but I put this on my calendar most years.  It’s a huge party to usher spring into Austin.  It has a classic Keep Austin Weird vibe, it’s a beautiful course, and once in a while it’s fun to not worry about pre-race nutrition, being out there for hours, how many gels I should bring etc.  Just wake up and go!

I met my friend Steve, who I have a long tradition of doing this race with.  This year the did away with runner/ walker corrals, and it was a free for all.  They had suggested pace markers but it was clear people started where ever they pleased.  But that’s one thing about this race…if you are going to get worked up over stuff like that, it’s not the race for you.  Think of it as a 6 mile run you can push yourself on a little.  We had a great time and finished in 51:56.  I was pleased.  Of note, just to relive my glory days, my best time ever on this course is just over 40 minutes.   I was super happy with my sub 52 minute time today.  Yay for being old.  A super cool touch was food trailers at the finish.  There was a vegan trailer and a cupcake trailer!  Only in Austin!  But my heart was set on a latte so we went corporate and hit a Starbucks.   A big thanks to Steve for running with me.

I had a really good run yesterday and feel like I am getting my legs back after a period of being really slow.  I think I just needed a break from 20 miles every weekend.  I am feeling more confident about some future goals (post to come).

Ok, a brief meal planning for the week:

Vegan eggplant parmesan (2 nights worth of food)

Whole wheat pasta with Mmmm sauce

Grilled chicken

Vietnamese take out

And less cake.  I ate too much cake this weekend.

5 Replies to “Capital 10K + meal planning…”

  1. Haha, you are not that old. 🙂 And I would love a 40 minute 10k! Oh, Austin… makes me miss Ithaca… that’s another place where a vegan rainbow place would not be surprising. 🙂 Glad you had a fun weekend!

    1. Oh the 40 minute 10K is over a decade old. I am sooooo not capable of doing that anymore. Yes, we are super lucky in Austin that it is such a fun place. Hope you get to visit Ithaca when you move back east.

      1. I think we will… we hope to at least go camping there in the summer occasionally, they have beautiful parks/hiking/gorges. Btw, for some reason your link in the link up doesn’t work for me.. maybe it works for other people? Or maybe it needs to be edited? Not sure, just wanted to let you know!

    1. The cheese is tofu ricotta. If you google it there are several variations and you can pick which one you like. I make it with a layer of sauce, a layer of eggplant (breaded and prebaked, not fried), a layer of the tofu ricotta, a layer of spinach leaves, another layer of sauce (just marinara from a jar), and top with “almesan”, 1/4 sliced almonds, 1 Tbsp sesame seeds, some lemon zest, and some salt all ground up in a food processor. Then bake until heated through. It’s soooo good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

