Hills and mint chip…

Mike climbing up a trail in the Rocky Mts, our fave vacation spot.
Mike climbing up a trail in the Rocky Mts, our fave vacation spot.

Somehow I keep forgetting I signed up for a half marathon when we go on vacation in Colorado in a little less than 8 weeks.  There was pretty limited information about the race on the website, as it looks very low key.  A few things did leap out at me though, “challenging”, and “all above 9000 feet”.  I figured I better get my hill running on for this one.

I live in a great area for running, but it’s very flat.  This is nice since I do about 50% of my runs with the stroller.  I live near a highway that must run along some kind of fault line, because my side of the highway= pancake flat, the other side= some of the biggest hills in Austin.  Lucky for me there is a pedestrian crosswalk less than a mile from my house.  I’ve been venturing over the highway a couple times a week now trying desperately to morph into a mountain runner.   This neighborhood is not only hillier, but it also must be a different tax bracket, because it’s full of beautiful homes and views.  There are wonderful views of the Balcones canyons, where I wonder if I am even in Austin anymore.  And yes, there are absolutely lung busting hills.

I did do a marathon in Colorado once that was up to 8000 feet and learned that my heat and humidity I run in was a great equalizer when it came to altitude.  Don’t get me wrong it was still quite challenging, but it was by far the most beautiful course I have ever been on, and I loved every minute.  I like challenging races, but I don’t like to feel under prepared, so hopefully my jaunts across the highway will do some good.

Another reason to do hills:  while we have made huge strides in healthy-ing up our eating, and have really changed our habits, there are occasional treats.  Last night we had a BLAST going to Baskin Robbins with Jasp.  It’s crazy to think how long that place has been around.    We agreed it will definitely be a regular evening outing this summer.  And, I also just discovered that one my favorite running stores is not too far from us, and next door to a fro-yo place.  On Sunday, Jasper and I did the splash pad, got yogurt, and then I got GU and Balega socks.   That’s what I call a good outing 🙂

What’s your favorite old school Baskin Robbins flavor?  I’m always partial to mint chip.  I also like cookies and cream.

 

One Reply to “Hills and mint chip…”

  1. A little bit of knowledge goes a long way in
    all situations in life. Buying a car is no different!
    That means you need to read advice from experts, as
    detailed below, to ensure that when you shop for that car, you really know what you’re doing and how to get the best deal.

Leave a Reply

