The one hobby phenomena…

20130604-091534.jpg
Jasper’s hobby is “art playdoh” as he calls it. He may have had some assistance with this one…

I was reading a running blog the other day that said something to the effect of when you are busy with young kids ( or one measly kid in my case), you get one hobby. I never thought of it that way, but it’s so true! Rather than spinning your wheels trying to do things that never materialize and getting quite frustrated in the process, accept you have time to enjoy one thing. Obviously for me that is running, duh. This is a refreshing concept. I occasionally dip into some of my former hobbies, but doing one thing and really getting into it as opposed to trying to do a gazillion things feels so much better. So running it is.

And it was a great run today! I had to take Jasper to an appt ( where I am right now) , so I had a little extra time to run since I didn’t have to race off to work right away. Jasp actually was asleep when I got up, and as I do one these rare occasions, I make it “hard run” day. Lately that means hills with trying to push the pace, so I hit up the NW hills neighborhood and pretended I was on Colorado hills. We shall see how well Austin hills translate to real mountain hills at the end of the month.

And I do suppose I got to dabble in some baking this weekend. That is a hobby I don’t do as much as I used to but I am finding as Jasper gets older it is a little easier to do here and there. I made vegan peanut butter blondies, and they were freakin’ awesome. They were so chewy it was almost like a cookie pie. Heaven. Good thing my main hobby is running…..I am a big fan of cookie pies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

