Uncategorized

Summertime Blues…

20130816-201054.jpg

I’ll admit to a touch of the blues since we finished vacation almost two months ago. No real reason in particular, but part of me has been yearning for less hectic days and more family time. I guess part of me was yearning for more me time, but I didn’t figure that out until this week.

Those of you with multiple kids or those who work real jobs are probably saying ” F – you, you have tons of time to yourself!” But even those of us who work European hours need time to do things we enjoy. We’ve been busier than normal lately and minus a few playdates I haven’t seen much of friends lately.

In the last couple months I’ve met friends to run one time. I’ve done about 80% of my runs with the little child who lives in my house. I love our time together and I know I’ll be sad when it ends. Last Sunday I cancelled the upteenth run with friends when Jasper woke up at 430. I spent the rest of the day grouchy and irritable. I wasn’t mad at Jasp, I wasn’t mad at Mike, but something had to give. I finally blew. I don’t need a running buddy every week, or even every other week, but sometimes I need a guaranteed, guilt free run with some friends, and a promise that someone else will watch the little child, and he won’t just sit in front of the tv. You know what? Mike agreed with me. And just like that a huge part of summertime blues went away. Funny how things work when you talk them out.

Next was part two of operation to end the summertime blues. My friend Steve and I have a ton in common but one thing we don’t is running routes. I love trails, trees, and wooded areas. He prefers downtown and city neighborhoods. I texted him that this weekend I had a pass to meet up but I needed to run somewhere pretty. I love my ‘ hood but I’ve had two months now of running loops around it and I wanted a change. He was agreeable, to somewhere pretty, so trail it is tomorrow! I’ve been looking forward to it all week.

The lesson here? I need friend time. I need to remember I don’t have a baby anymore and occasionally not dragging him along is ok. I may work less hours than they do in France, but I need my leisure time too.

Speaking of, the little child was up for 3 hours in the middle of the night with a nightmare that someone took his backpack and he kept trying to look for it. So I got 3 hours of sleep. I have a big run tomorrow on the trail, with a buddy, so it’s bed and True Blood for me!!!!

2 thoughts on “Summertime Blues…”

  1. We all need and crave different things and that’s ok. It doesn’t matter if you have one child or 5, being a mom is HARD and draining. I crave time by myself. I’m never alone….except when I run (some of my favorite time). I love my children but I’m a better mom when I’m happy. You do a lot and give a lot of yourself to Jasper. You need your time too. I hope you enjoy every step of your run today!

Leave a Reply

