Uncategorized

More treadmill joy, a rant and a fruit craving…

This is another running week heavy on the treadmill, as it’s just me, Jasp, and the now pill popping border collie.   Once again, I think “why didn’t I get one of these years ago?!”   Jasp is getting pretty good about letting me get the whole run in without too many requests for something.  Our deal is:  he  lets me do my run, and immediately post run I build a super impressive train track for his faux-Thomas train set.  It works for us.  Everyone is happy. 

I am really getting this treadmill routine down, too.  I thought I’d do a lot of hill workouts, but really haven’t.  I discovered early on that the hill settings make me do something to alter my stride and I end up abnormally sore the next day.  I figure this is a bad thing, so I don’t go over a 1% grade.  I also know that for me, running the treadmill is harder, since there is no varying your pace unless you constantly jack with the settings (which I don’t).  So if I have to do treadmill running all week, I use it as a good excuse to try a couple faster runs.  Easy days on the treadmill are really nice though, because they are so easy, as long as my fingers are never tempted to turn up the speed.  I still haven’t done a really long run on it, nothing over an hour and a half, and most the time I do between 6-8 miles.  I also have realized I really did get the treadmill right for me.  I opted to sacrifice bells and whiltles to get a slightly higher end, but very plain model.  Now that I’ve done significant running on it, I don’t think I would have used any of the bells and whistles anyways.  As long as I have my ipad with my shows on it, I am set!

Ok, and here is a rant, pre-apologies if I offend anyone.  I follow a lot of running websites, and I don’t get these articles about how some running parent is an example of balancing it all when they don’t work and send thier kid to childcare so they can train.  If that’s your job, to be a professional runner, fair enough, but please don’t call that a balancing act.  I’m sure these people are still busy, but it’s not like they have to get up at 4am to run because it’s the only free time of the day.  Ok, rant over. 

Also, my lunch break is about over.  I forgot half my lunch on the kitchen counter today and am having fresh fruit withdrawals.  I work in a hospital, and ironically that means there is nothing healthy I can purchase to eat here.  Hopefully I will make it through the day without a crappy coffee cart stale muffin, or raiding Jasper’s snacks I packed for our commute home.  The squeezee apple sauce is looking tempting…

6 thoughts on “More treadmill joy, a rant and a fruit craving…”

  1. I understand your rant. The moms who run, work, and make time for the kids….they are the ones that impress me. I have been toying with the idea of going back to work, but one of the major cons is that I think I would give up my running for the most part bc it would either mean not seeing my kids 2 to 3 evenings a week or getting up at 4 AM (the better option but I’m not that dedicated). I use running as my break from the kiddos since I’m around them all day, but I don’t think I would devote much of my home time to it once I had a 9 to 5 again. So let me just say that although I know things are not perfect for you (are they for anyone?), you really have the balancing act down (from an outside point of view).

    1. Julie…I should clarify. Stay at home mom is a job. I read an article at lunch today about a guy who is a professional runner and that’s his only job. He puts his son in daycare while he trains all day. That’s fine…running is his job. What got me is the article made it out like he was super dad. I was thinking “that doesn’t sound that hard!” Oh and his wife didn’t work either! I am in awe if those of you with two kids. Especially two boys!!!

      1. I was not offended at all…no need to clarify. I know what I do is a job…much harder than any other job I’ve had…but I do get to see my kids all day every day so taking some time in the evenings or on weekends to run, etc, doesn’t seem like a big deal. However, if I worked outside the home, it would be so much harder to fit that in…that’s why you seem to have it so together….so balanced. Pssh….I’m sure this runner guy is great and all, but not super dad. I bet he gets to shower alone after his runs…. Remember what that was like to get to relax some after runs? My kids tackle me as soon as I walk through the door. 🙂

  2. Here’s a “balancing Dad” for you — Our kids are out of preschool every second Friday so their teachers can do classroom work. Bill doesn’t have class on Fridays, so he gets to hang out with our kids all day when preschool is out. Last night, Bill got out of bed around 3:30 am and, when I got up to go meet my walking buddy at 5:30, he was just stepping out of the shower. I asked him, “Have you been up since 3:30?” He said, “Yes. I was supposed to run 4 miles today and I knew that wouldn’t happen since the kids were out of preschool. I woke up at 3 and couldn’t sleep, so I figured I might as well get my run in . . . . ” My thinking — It’s great that you got your run in, but I’m glad you didn’t get picked up by the Kansas City Police. Most people who are running at 3:30 in the morning are running away from something . . . .
    We’ll see if he’s still surviving the day when I get home this evening.

Leave a Reply

