Uncategorized

The almost 4 year old, some podcasts and cake in my future…

photo
The almost 4 year old! This is the only photo on my desktop at work, so it was quick to add it

This week was a whirlwind of catching back up at work and a snow day.

I ran on the treadmill a lot this week.  The weather kinda blew, but nothing compared to the rest of the country.  It’s just so hard to go out in 20 degrees if I don’t have to…BUT, I have a two week stint of exclusively running on the treadmill coming up when Mike is out of town…so I’m going to do my darndest to run outside as much as I can in the next couple weeks.  This includes the Austin marathon!  So excited…it’s finally here.  I also saw that Spirit of the Marathon II comes out on DVD sometime in Feb, so I may spring for a download while I do a long run on the ‘mill.  I also discovered this site:  Running Podcast List.  Now, not all podcasts are created equal, that’s for darned sure, but I have a couple more in my arsenal now to get me through long treadmill runs, and long work days.  Life is all about distractions.  🙂

Tomorrow starts marathon “taper”.  As I’ve said, I don’t really taper, but just decrease my long runs.  I’ve got 16-17 for tomorrow, and then a giant chocolate cake for someone’s birthday.  Yay!  Jasper is a big frosting fan since it fits into his profile of preferring soft foods.  We’ve got a lot of chocolate frosting on his cake.  This is a good thing.

This week I got the Runner’s Guide to Walt Disney World from Amazon.   Yes, this means a trip in the future is possible.  I heard a podcast with the authors and it seemed quite helpful.  A year is a long time, so who knows if we would really end up going this year, but the book was only $11, and it’s pretty fun to read about all the stuff to do in the parks.  I recommend it if you are thinking of hauling your fam down there.

Alright, lunch break is over.  I’m happy it’s Friday, happy tomorrow is supposed to be warm, and happy I’ll be eating chocolate cake tomorrow.  Most of all I’m happy I’ve got my little almost 4 year old in my life.

Leave a Reply

