You’ve got my attention now, Voldemort!

20140329-203751.jpg

We runners do not like the “I” word……injury. It’s like Voldemort for Harry Potter….don’t even say it. I’m still not saying it, but my back officially has my attention. It’s been bothering me since about January. The worst thing for it is driving, and I spend about 2-3 hours in the car on weekdays. But I won’t turn this blog into a manifesto about Austin traffic. But I do suspect the drive time is a major factor in why my low back has been bothering me. I’ve managed it with lots of stretching and getting a deep tissue massage every other week for the last 6 weeks….yeah that’s expensive. I’d been doing better until a 9 hour class for work this week, and sitting that long flared it up. Today’s run was amazing for about 10 miles and then tightness and a backache set in enough that I realized I have to change things up. So I’m initiating phase one of “I refused to be injured”. Phase one is dropping the long runs down in distance. Phase two is omitting a run or two a week and phase three is not running. I’m hoping initiating phase one when I could keep pushing on and trying to be smart means I won’t even make it to phase two. If it came to phase three, I did it before and I could get through it again…..I just don’t want to get to that point. Positive thinking, people!!! All I’ve got on my running calendar is a measly 30k, then nothing until fall marathon prep starts in late June. I may go into the 30k a little undertrained but so be it.

So there you go…..take that Voldemort!!!!

Ok….gonna watch Desert Runners now. I heard about it on podcast. You can own the download for only $7.99. Very cool….the trailer looked good.

And if you want Bluebonnet heaven….head to Brushy Creek park…running there this morning was almost worth my backache.

2 Replies to “You’ve got my attention now, Voldemort!”

  1. Ugh. The “I” word. I’ve been dealing with that a bit this year too. I thought I had done something serious to my lower legs, but they seem better now. I wanted to tell you that I signed up for my first marathon….eeeeek! It’s the Horse Capital marathon in Lexington, Ky so it’s local. And it’s over a year away. It was only $55 right now and I can’t resist a bargain. You were my first inspiration into running anything more than a 10k. So thanks….or no thanks….I don’t know which yet. I ran a half yesterday in 40 degree rain and it was hilly and miserable. I’m soooo sore today.

    1. That is sooo awesome you signed up for a marathon. If you need any help at all please let me know. I’m a big believer that it’s pretty doable to complete a marathon without letting it take over your life. Smart move going local too….it’s so much more stressful to do a big marathon with 30,000 other people. Can’t wait to follow your journey!!!

Leave a Reply

