Uncategorized

And the real athlete of week is……(not me)

The super athlete of the week...
The super athlete of the week…

Running this week was little baby steps each day to all the aches and pains from this dang fall resolving.

Saturday:  Only made it 7 miles.  I was concerned after this run.  I was still very sore.

Sunday:  Improvement!  I ran on the treadmill and started feeling glimmers of pain free running.  7 miles, yoga core at night

Monday:  More improvement!  6 miles in the hood and a chiropractor visit, with huge gains.   She reminded me that I probably just have to wait out some of the soreness.  Dang it!

Tuesday:  More improvement!  Another 6 miles in the hood, home yoga at night.

Wednesday:  7 miles.  A little sore with this one.  Then the real athlete in the family got his moment that afternoon.  I am soooooo proud of my angel.  He is swimming like a champ and can complete the distance required to pass his swim test to swim independently….a test normally not even given until kids are 5, but since he’s doing so good the Y said he could take it.    Only issue is he says he doesn’t want to take it.  I don’t want to push it and make him dislike swimming, so for now I will count an hour long session of continous swimming with him as a workout…but he’s the real swimmer, not me. 

Thursday:  6 on the treadmill with a couple short interruptions.  Real yoga class at night.  That hurt the sore leg some, but it’s better today.

Friday:  I walked a couple miles in the morning just to wake up. 

I spent a lot of time this week doing my chiropractor exercises to get these dang legs back to a pre-fall state.   It’s a bit of time suck, but this week was so much better than last.  I predicted this fall would take a couple weeks to work the kinks out, and that is proving to be the case.  Tomorrow’s attempt at a long run will be the real test.  The chiropractor left it up to me if I wanted to try one more visit or not and so far I’m thinking I’m done.  Just avoiding ANYTHING I might trip over.  Oh, and Monday starts marathon training….yippee!!!  So I need to be healed.   I can’t say enough how proud I am of Jaspy for being such a good swimmer….that was the highlight of my week!

4 thoughts on “And the real athlete of week is……(not me)”

  1. Maybe Jasper will be another Michael Phelps! Did you put him in lots of swim lessons? Aaron did lessons every summer, but I kind of felt like they were a waste of time. We have a pool and he swims everyday. He is very comfortable in the water, but he’s not an independent swimmer. Maybe because I’m too paranoid to take the flotation suit off of him??? He’s 5 now, it’s time. Any advice for me?

    1. We lucked out and I just happened to have a really good swim school by my house. The pool is indoors so we do lessons year round. I never had intentions of getting him to be good at swimming and I’m not much of a swimmer myself. He seemed to like it and the fact we could do it year round has made us keep it up. I really found the swim school by accident, but they are great there. You might look into something like that in SA. I don’t push him though. I don’t want him to start not liking it, so if he’d rather play in the water than swim I just go with it. Good luck! I’m jealous you have a pool!

Leave a Reply

