New family member…

IMG_1801.JPG

Meet DaVinci. We’ve known for a few months that he was coming at the end of October. He was my parents’ dog and they decided to simplify their life a bit and down size their dog pack. DaVinci was really good with Jasper when we met him back in June. So here he is. It’s a little adjustment, but so far, it’s going pretty good. Our biggest concern was Pancake, who’s been an only dog her whole life. DaVinci is a very gentle male dog, so we thought it could work (apparently two females can cause fighting for who gets to be the alpha dog). Pancake has given him some warning growls, and he responds without any aggression, so I think they’ll work out the order of things.

I am going to slowly working on converting DaVinci into a running partner. He’s at about a mile right now, so we’ve got some time ahead of us to build him up. Cake has gone down from her 6-10 mile range to 1-2 miles at age 14, so they are pretty evenly matched. But I still think a couple miles is good for a 14 year old.

So that’s the newest adventure. I know I need more stress and chaos in my life (not!)…….but hopefully in a few weeks once DaVinci gets settled in it will be pretty easy to have two dogs.

Working on gently running this week. Feeling mostly recovered from last weekend’s fun run. I am seriously craving yoga, as with Mike being out of town almost all month, and then my out of town weekend, I’ve only done home yoga for almost a month. So that’s the goal in the next couple weeks……to get back into a schedule. Then time to think about the Austin marathon….more on that later. In the meantime, I’ve got some miles with a little black fur ball.

2 Replies to “New family member…”

  1. Pretty dog and cute little boy. We have that same soccer jersey (as do many around here). Glad to see you doing well – I still follow along, although I never comment.

Leave a Reply

