Uncategorized

Bleh!  And gratitude…



BFFs?

This was week one of the new marathon world order assault plan, aka changing it up based on the Hanson’s training book.  It was like the running joke in Airplane! “Looks like I picked a bad week to quit smoking”.  Looks like I picked a bad week for some hard runs….two freezing rain incidents in a week that is normally spring like in Texas?  WTF?   In a nutshell, my plan is run more M-F and run harder.  Run less on weekends, but run harder.   Monday was an easy day, but it was on the treadmill thanks to freezing sleet. Tuesday was 30 degrees, and those of you anywhere else in the country can curse me right now, but I couldn’t do it.  It’s mostly running in the dark the whole time that gets me when it’s that cold….so hills were done on thre treadmill.   Those suckers are hard.  Wednesday was 8 miles with 6x 1 mile, which I actually did 4x 1 mile.  Six is pretty ambitious for someone just starting speed work.  I was very happy with my pace.  Thursday was another easy run and I beefed up miles everyday to give me 5 more than a regular week, but that’s about an entire extra run.  I got in a yoga class and core a few nights plus I pulled weeds for an entire afternoon which crippled my forearms and shoulders the next day.  This weekend is 14-15 then 10.  The weather is atrocious so I may end up on the treadmill, but I read this http://talk.brooksrunning.com/2015/02/26/preparing-for-boston-2015-desi-linden/ article about Desi Linden doing training runs in -12 and it made me want to toughen up a bit.  I’m no pro runner, but I’d like to think I’m not a total wimp.   But yes, the weather is bleh!

I had a mini freakout this week.  Every single weekend until this marathon has some sorta event…including two stints where Mike is out of town.  Jasper is back to waking up before 5 am which makes for various challenges.  Why am I adding more stress?  Mike assured me we would work around it all and make it work out.    Can you say gratitude?   I’m so thankful my family helps me do the things I want to do. Running marathons is entirely self serving, but yet they still help me do it.   Jaspy’s recent sleep strike isn’t the most helpful though 😊.   But I’m still thankful for a lot.  Hello Disney vacation in warm, sunny Florida in just a couple days!  Plus, in the big picture, a warm home on a cold night is ALWAYS something to be thankful for.  

And finally, to really get out of my comfort zone, I signed up for a 10 mile race.  I got a discount code and while it was still expensive, I justified it because 1.  It’s very close to my house, logistically easy.  2.  That is a great distance to push hard,  3.  I’ve only paid for one race this year.  The 30k I did in January and the marathon a couple weeks ago were comped.  I paid for my April race and that’s it, so I figured one more wouldn’t break the bank too much.   4.  Being so close to home it’s fairly guilt free. I won’t be gone all day in another city, so it’s a low burden on the fam with the little child who starts bouncing off the walls at 5am.  

Well, I gotta get some rest since someone has woken me up the last three nights in addition to 4:15 wake ups and my eyeballs hurt at this point.   Got some packing to do tomorrow too!

Leave a Reply

