1/2 Spring break!

  Skatepark for 2 hours on Wednesday!!!

Happy spring break.   This year I did what I always have wanted to do , but never seem to….take days off and leave!   I only worked the first half of the week and then tried to do some fun things with Jasp so he didn’t spend the whole break in child care.   

I ran on the treadmill a lot and yesterday I had a podiatrist appt that Jasp didn’t want to go to so he did a few hours of childcare while I did a few errands and threw in a yoga class.  It was the best kind, that was challenging but not to the point where I am sore for days.  Which is good since I am racing Sunday!   I have no idea what to expect.  I haven’t raced a half marathon in about three years.  Weather should be a little cold…..I swear we get a cold front every spring break.  I can’t say I tapered either other than taking tomorrow completely off anything.   The half marathon is honestly my best distance and if I were smart I’d focus on it and not marathons, but I love the training for marathons.   I tell myself that one year I won’t do any marathons except Austin, and focus on a few halves.    I can probably hit 40 total lifetime marathons in 2016, so maybe 2017.  Anyhow, I’d like to keep an 8:15-8:30 pace.  Dream pace is dip into low 8:00s.     We’ll see…..this half is mixed with a fun trip so I anticipate lots of good food and a beer or two.   I’m excited to run in San Antonio…it is much more historic than Austin with this race course going through mostly historical, nice areas, and I’m a sucker for a cool course without boring strip malls!

Update…..didn’t finish this post yesterday.  Slept in until 5:30 this morning and now I’m slamming coffee on the couch before a dog walk….about to be outta here!

Leave a Reply

