Uncategorized

Austin 10/20 race…

  

This isn’t my favorite distance but this race is so close to me and so well done I had to do it again.   The day before I rested, only doing some walking.  Race didn’t start until 8:00 (wish it had started earlier) , but that gave me time for a true warm up.   I ran a couple miles at home, changed into race clothes, drove to the start and did another 1.5 miles.  I think it really helped.  I felt ready to roll, and no tightness the first couple miles.  I knew a couple people I met at the gym were doing it so I met up with their group right before the start.  I almost always go to races alone, so it was nice to have some people to hang out with.  One of the girls is a sub 8 min/ miler but we agreed to start together.  One of the coolest things about this race is there is prize money, so real professional runners show up.   Granted the prize purse isn’t huge, so these are probably the JV team of Kenyans, but watching these guys run in person is pretty incredible.   Like my experience in the Dallas marathon I was completely surprised at just how tiny these guys are.   They make even a very fit, thin person at the gym look bulky.   

Goal was 8:00/ miles which sadly in a race this competitive is midpack.   But it’s what I’ve got.   Right away my body felt good and I didn’t feel like it was an over reach.   Kept the first 5 miles at Sub 8:00.   The course isn’t really exciting or pretty but mostly flat.   There is a gradual incline at mile 8:00 and it ends on an incline, so my last two miles were my slowest. 😕. But overall, I was pleased.  It’s no where near what I used to be able to run, but 20 seconds a mile faster than last year, so it’s improvement which I have been working on!   

And now my overly picky critique of the race.   Not much to say, extremely organized.  Corrals worked great and I wonder why more races don’t use these.  So much better than weaving through people at the start.  Shirt is ugly, but I think most race shirts are ugly.  Medal is over the top.   Super nice, although personally I think a huge medal for a 10 mile race is a bit much, but maybe I’m just being old school and a grouch. 

Anyhow, a good morning of racing.   Perfect weather and good times. Up next is the OZ half marathon.  But Stephanie sets  the pace on this one….as long as she doesn’t make me run faster than I did today…not quite there yet!

Leave a Reply

