A test, a pilgrimage, and a 10K…

Last weekend’s attempt at inducing fall….making fall themed cookies.
First night of gymnastics. Of course he loved it and was a natural.
Voo Doo donut love…

Sooooo busy the last couple weeks.  Between hard workouts, activities, fall fest planning, and way too much work, oh yeah and getting sick, there wasn’t much breathing room.

I knew fall would be wild.  There is just so much going on, but I know have one huge thing off my list, a certification exam.   That sucker’s been on my calendar since March and I’ve been studying two night a week for the last 6 weeks or so.   Saturday was my test (250 questions, ouch).  I won’t know results for 4 weeks, but I’m just glad it’s done.   I took Jasper on a Voo Doo donuts pilgrimage later.   I am ashamed it’s been here over a year and I just now went.   I thought it was worth the hype.  The donuts are really good and I am not a donut person.   The atmosphere is super fun.  The donuts are over the top and not really something I’d want for breakfast,but they are so inexpensive it was fun to get a few crazy flavors and sample them. Only gripe….horrible location.  It’s in the middle of a bunch of bars with no where to park.   Jasper and I ended up with almost 4 miles of walking round trip.  I’ll pay to park, no problem, but I had to draw the line at $15 dollar parking for a 30 minute, $5 donut excursion.   I’ll have to figure out something better for next time.

I’ve had a few good workouts the last few weeks.  We had a 19 mile progression run that I got the pacing right for, and I didn’t feel too sore the next day.   We had mile repeats this week that were done at paces I haven’t seen in 5 years.  This morning, coach had us do a 10k race with warm up and cool down.  The race was near by, but didn’t start until 8:30.   It’s really not fall at all, because by then the heat was getting pretty intense and the completely shadeless course was an oven.   Our goal pace was 7:30.  On one hand I bombed that, 7:40s for me.   But, that is the fastest I’ve raced at in 5 years, so I don’t feel completely defeated.  Plus it was a good effort and faster than I would have run on my own.   Also this run had the 10kers plowing right into the 5k walkers on loop two so there was a ton of weaving.  I’d like to think I could have gone faster without that, but who knows?   It was good  to race for the first time in over 5 months and get the cobwebs out, before the marathon.  Plus I had some Voo Doo donuts to race off…🍩🍩🍩

Up this week, Jasper had taekwondo, gymnastics, and cub scouts, Mike has the Melvins and Dinosuar Jr to see.  I have a 20 miler.  We need more weekend time!

One Reply to “A test, a pilgrimage, and a 10K…”

Leave a Reply

