Fall!   Taper!

Well the cooler weather is finally here!   The days are still pretty warm, but comfortable.  Minus one really hot muggy  morning this week, most mornings were pretty comfortable.  Which means the last two weekends’ 21 mile runs were not misery.  

So yes, taper starts tomorrow.   It’s been a long journey and gone fast all at the same time.  Marathon training kick off was May 1!  This was my longest build up, but I think that was necessary.  Without a doubt I got faster.  Twice a week speedwork, did indeed work.  I spent longer mastering each distance so that by the time I got up to 20, I had plenty of endurance.  I have no doubt that if I stay healthy, don’t do anything stupid, and the weather is favorable, I can make my goal time in two weekends.  This Saturday was a test, 15 miles at a faster than comfort pace then 5 miles at race pace, and it went well.  I’m sure a lot of that was the fact it wasn’t 80 degrees at 5am.  I also started taking salt pills and I think it really leveled out my stomach and gels and water went down great.   I’m a little sore today, but coach said getting sore was fine.  I have almost two weeks to rebuild.  Like all runners, I hate tapering and I’m terrible at it.  But I’m going to do what he tells me, as I’ve  worked way to hard the last few months to screw it up.  I will have to remember all the mornings running on the track in the dark at a horrible hour or ricidulous intervals on the treadmill at an hour that is still considered night.  Bleh.  I love the training, but some mornings are just hard.

And in the rest of life,  the Fall slam continues.  Jaspy had ramped up to activities five times a week and we decided something had to give.  I ended up missing his activity twice in a week  because the traffic for me to get home was so insane, plus he has homework every night now, plus we were pretty much never eating real dinner.  So cub scouts got the ax.  He took it well.  He is currently so infatuated with gymnastics that he was willing to do anything to protect it.  I remained slammed with fall festival.  Once that is over,  I get a lull before Austin marathon.  Yes, despite lots of doubt I decided to pace again.  Because I need extra stress (ha!), but I really decided I’d be really sad if I gave up my spot on the team.  I’ve managed to fool them for this long that I know what I’m doing…

So that’s it until race day.  I hope it works….I plan to recount what I thought worked well and what didn’t.  Hopefully more works well!

One Reply to “Fall!   Taper!”

Leave a Reply

