Uncategorized

3M half marathon report…

The medal was pretty sweet this year, best one I’ve ever gotten from this race.
Coldest long run I’ve ever done a couple weeks ago….19 degrees with a wind chill of 10 degrees.

The 3 M half is really Austin’s premiere running event.  It’s a better course than the Austin marathon and extremely well organized.  I hadn’t done it in four years mostly due to cost….it gets expensive if you don’t register early.  This year after a disappointing marathon in the fall, I decided to make it my goal race.  Training for a goal half and marathon pacing is a little complicated.  I need those long runs and the speed workouts.  I love my little running group, and we’ve had some killer track sessions and tempos to bring the speed along.  As for character building,  my 19 mile run on the record cold day with 6 miles of that alone in the dark, took care of that.   People in places with real winter feel free to laugh but in Texas sub 20 degrees in no joke.   Plus I has the usual treadmill days and ridicously early wake ups and it all adds up to putting in some work.

But I love the training.  I love that I have people to meet for the hard stuff now and I love getting coached workouts.  There are many moments of wanting more sleep, but overall I look forward to the training days and don’t love my off days on the schedule. 

My only complaint about the race this year was packet pick up.  You couldn’t pick up someone else’s packet, no exceptions.  But packet pickup was at the downtown convention center during a massive event (just a little thing called the women’s march)  and was a major cluster.  Luckily I walked down during work on Friday and got it on about a 2.5 mile round trip walk.  But I felt sorry for my running buddies who had to eat up a bunch of their Saturday.  Rant over, but I just didn’t get it…

wind gusts up to 50 mph was the forecast…..and it really did happen.   The start areas was a wind tunnel.   Pre race went flawless with no hassle parking and meeting up with all friends easily.  The day before was an epic eating fail with a sour candy challenge and a totally screwed up dinner out which resulted in way too much French fry nibbling to prevent from eating my arm off for food during an hour and a half wait for pub food.  Grrr.  Pleasantly surprised my belly was intact this am (healthy eating resumes tomorrow….if I type it, it will happen).  Sooooo…the course was windy.  Sometime a tailwind, sometimes a head wind.   Some sometimes I was flying, sometimes struggling.  I just wanted a time that reflected all my hard work, and the 1:41 I got feels fairly like it does.   I’m bummed I used to run so, so much faster on this course and I’ll never get that back, but big picture, is you can’t really complain about running healthy.  

My friend/ coach, George paced me, which was great.  I wanted to stay comfortable until 10 then drop the pace.  I did that and I was happy that 7:40ish pace was comfortable.  Last year I raced a half in March and 8:15s was my best.   So pretty happy that this year was 30 sec a mile faster.   The wind knocked my packing down pretty good at the end.   I think I was running faster, but it was into a headwind.   Ended up maybe a few seconds short of what I’d wanted, but again, I think the race went well.  And now for the old timers:

-I miss the cotton long sleeve shirts so much.   I’m over cheap tech shirts. 

-I guess the super fancy medal makes up for the cheap tech shirt.   It is seriously  one of the best medals I’ve ever gotten. 

-this course is still pretty awesome.  I want the marathon back on this course!  It was so much better then.

-barefoot running must be over.    I didn’t see anyone barefoot.  Thank God,   Worst running trend ever.  

-I’m really tired.  Even racing a shorter distance wears me out.   Bed and Netflix calls….

Leave a Reply

